Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Power Upper Elementary School

Public | 5-6 | 756 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

Ok, it's been awhile since these ratings are up to date, so here is a honest review. I just finished 2 years at Power (5th and 6th) I'm now going into 7th grade at East. I can honestly say that it is ok, not great. KIDS: So obviously you want to know what kind of kids are going to this school. A lot of them are very nice, I have not met a student who has been mean to me. Some of the kids have been mean to other kids, but a lot of times it only happens once, all school are like that though, right!? There is a certain person who I have heard, should be expelled. But he/she is leaving the school. One person did get expelled that I know of, 2 were excused for the rest of the year, that I know of, and a few kids have been suspended, but the majority of the kids are good. I'm personally friends with both kinds of people. TEACHERS: I would say that my favorite teacher is not from power, but my 2nd or 3rd is. Some of the teachers are nice and others are mean! 2 lunch ladys are mean, and the others are nice. The principle is nice, and the vice principle hasn't been there all year so we had a substitute. LUNCH/FREE LUNCH: I do know some kids who are on free lunch, but not the majority.


Posted June 5, 2013

is okay but not great,i like the teachers and princilable but there work afets are kinda of


Posted January 27, 2008

This is the best school in Famingtion/Farmingtion Hills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

My eighth grade daughter has enjoyed her three years at Power. I think the academics are well taught, and the extracurricular activities are extensive and open to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

Power is a ok school but not the best in oakland. This school is not recommended, so you should go to another farmington school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

Hi I am a 7th grade student at Power middle School. I think that Power is a very good school. Everyone I know is nice. If you are a parent and you are reading this you should register your child to Power. Their education is not too hard and not too easy. It is in between. Teachers and staff are nice. Once again I think you should register your child to Power.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2006

My opinion of Power is not a good one. Had trouble with my child that has ADHD. Seemed like no one would help him or give him the extra boost he needed. Teachers even misplaced papers that had been graded but counted as '0'. Not impressed. Thank Goodness he moved on to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

I'm a 8th grade student at Power. I can from Roosevelt in Oak Park 2 month ago. This school is 1,000 times better. Even though some teachers and staff are not open to other ethnicities overall is is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2005

I am an 8th grade student at Power Middle school. I have been attending here since 6th grade. I feel that this school could be a little more mixed with students and staff. Some of the teachers can be very discriminating towards certain races. Our saftey and 'sometimes' education is top notch. It's a very appealing building. I would say though, that the main problem is the staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

This is the best middle school. Every thing is perfect for my child. She comes to school everyday saying how a great day she had. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 69%
African-American 26% 18%
Asian 14% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Anderson
Fax number
  • (248) 489-3628

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34740 Rhonswood St
Farmington Hills, MI 48335
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 489-3622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gill Elementary School
Farmington, MI



Cloverdale School
Farmington, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT