Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillside Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 542 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2013

Hillside is an exceptional school! I was initially intimidated by its size, but all of my fears proved unfounded once we started. We are a close knit community. The staff has recently welcomed fresh faces with amazing energy. In both 2012 and 2013 Hillside teachers were awarded the "Elementary Teacher of the Year" and "Heart and Soul" awards for the district, proving that we have the best staff in the district! Our children continually test in top percentages and perform above grade level. After 3 years here, I'm sad that our time is nearly over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

Hillside has dropped from being the newest and best school in the Farmington system to one of the worse. The school worked fine when the pupil population came from a comfortably middle class clientel; however, that has changed. The teachers come largely from diploma mill "colleges" and don't have the skill set to deal with inidividualization of the curriculum. I am unimpressed with Hillside School. It's terrible performance has ruined the property value of the neighborhood. It is no longer a school to which it is safe to send your children. As a neighbor of the school and a parent with children that have attended Hillside and the grandparent of a child eligible to attend Hillside, I am sadly disappointed by the incompetence of this school. My grandchildren will attend other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

It seems that all the good rating here were from 2010 and before. It's now 2012. The school has changed a lot during the past couple of years with the new principle in charging of the school. If you know how many students are leaving the school each year and how hard parents are trying to seek for alternative schools for their children, you will know how bad this school is now. My kid's experience at this school is disaterous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

They have excellent teachers, my daughter was two years at Hillside, and she made a great progress both in math and in reading and in writing. Based on our experience with the Hillside, I think the opinion that children don't learn much when attending public schools (at least elementary ones) is far from being true. The school office staff is also good, they are professionals of their job. But the school must do a lot in improving the discharge discipline. It is unacceptable that children, exiting the school door, run disorganized in all directions. They should rater exit in lines and stay within the lines waiting for their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The teachers really bend over backward and go the distance to make sure the students learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

As a parent who is also a teacher in the district, I am very happy to have my children attend Hillside. As you read these reviews, remember that no school is perfect and one complaint is usually louder than all of the acclaims. My child feels safe, cared for, and respected... way to go Hillside staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Our children have been at Hillside for three years. We were very satisfied with the school at first but are slightly disappointed in the way the school handles bullying and problem children. They like to sweep problems under the rug but please just remember to always advocate for your child! Nice caring children should have the right to a safe educational environment!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My daughter has been going to this school for 4 years. The teachers are great. They follow the public school curriculum just like any other public school in FH. This is a big school and adds a lot of variety in education. The school bus service saves us on our gas bills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The teachers here are really terrific. They are committed to providing the best for each child and work in grade level teams to support each other. Discipline and leadership can be a problem. The teachers do what they can in the classrooms with difficult children, but there is not a lot of support or follow-through from the administration. Many students don't even recognize the principal because she does not make herself visible and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school is exceptional in its commitment to educating young children! The children are treated as individuals and the staff is the very best and they all have each students best interest at heart.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 69%
African-American 24% 18%
Asian 24% 3%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Pamela Green
Fax number
  • (248) 489-3781

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36801 West 11 Mile Rd
Farmington Hills, MI 48335
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 489-3773

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Fabian Catholic School
Farmington Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT