Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mercy High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Farmington Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $94,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

Our daughter is a Junior at Mercy this year. I am thrilled that she is at such an outstanding school. Tha Administration is top notch and the teachers are excellent. The school does an amazing job at celebrating each individual girl and making everyone feel that they are equally important to the community. I am always warmly welcomed on campus. Academics, Technology, Athletics, Social Events, Spiritual Opportunities, and Outreach Activities are all exceptional at this remarkable high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

This is a wonderful high school. The staff is so devoted to helping each girl attain her full potential. I can not imagine our daughter having spent her high school years at any other school. She is now in her first year of college and doing well due to the excellent preparation she got at Mercy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

I am very impressed so far. My daughter confidence level is very high. Without the stress of male students she is very focus academically and does not appear to be overwhelmed. The staff has been wonderful! It is a long drive from Grosse Pointe MI to Farmingtion Hills MI everyday but it is worth it to make sure she is getting such a outstanding education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

I just LOVE this school. We made the best possible choice for our daughter. She is now a junior and we could not be happier.The teachers are wonderful and always willing to help out. Every time I walk into the school I feel welcome. The staff is happy to see you there. You are not made to feel like an intruder but a friend. Our daughter has just started the college process and I know she will be well prepared for what ever college she goes too. (MSU is on her short list) But don't just take MY word for it. Check it out for yourself. They have Open House twice a year for families and Shadow days for girls to visit and spend a day with a current Mercy Girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I transferred to Mercy from public schooling and absolutely loved it! It was wonderful to have the full focus on academics and extracurricular activities without the silly stress of boys, and even picking out an outfit in the morning. Thanks to Mercy I entered college a well prepared freshman; not one overwhelmed by class schedules or the subject matter, enabling me to succeed and graduate with a 3.90 average. To simply say Mercy is wonderful is not enough, it is an experience that prepares you not only for college and time management, but enlightens you to other cultures, races, and points of view. This was the best choice my parents have ever made for me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

Our daughter has just started her sophomore year at Mercy. The school is amazing and strives to meet each girls needs. They always encourage the girls to be their best and to aim high. They help the students to make good class choices and to set high goals. They offer many AP classes which my daughter is looking forward to next year. Go Marlins! Fear the Fish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2008

Mercy High is a wonderfully diverse and interesting school and I'm very pleased with my education here so far (I've just finished my sophomore year). While no school is perfect--e.g. administration can be a little inconsistent--the school has a relatively relaxed atmosphere with a lot of great teachers who really care about students. There are lots of new classes for people of different levels in math and science abilities, so it's easy to make the schedule work for you. I love having off time during the school day and having the tablets, although they can be a distraction at times. (There are still a lot of kinks in the program that need to be worked out.) Mercy gives a lot of work and discipline, but also a lot of fun things throughout the year that make it a really well-rounded, beneficial, and enjoyable place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

This school is amazing. The atmosphere is amazing and the school really pushes students to succeed
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

Excellent academics, the teachers are strict and hold the students to a high standard. However administration does not seem to fully investigate or think through their decisions. Students are required to purchase $2000 table laptops. They use them in class to email friends and occasionally take notes with and look up information on the internet. Pen and paper would be cheaper and not as much of a distraction in the classroom. They have made national news for their flip-flop decisions: accepting then refusing and again accepting a 'lunch with the governor' fundraiser, allowing the students to participate in a contest to win a vist by a hip hop artist, and then after the students won the contest, the administration decided the artist wasn't appropriate for the school. Refusing a right to life speaker that was invited by the students to speak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I graduated from Mercy last fall and I still miss it every day. It was the best decision I have ever made. Now that I'm in college I have realized how much it prepared me for the real world, academically and socially. Mercy is so diverse and gives you so many amazing gifts to succeed in life! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

My daughter goes there they show you all the assignments that will be due ahead of time and keep you updated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

Excellent school. My daughter just started Mercy as a Freshwomen last month and we could not be more pleased. She loves the college type of scheduling of off hours each day and the tablet computer. The staff has been very helpful in helping her make the transition to an all girl high school from a co ed middle school. Well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

One of the best places for the money today!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

As a Mercy Alumnae I am very thankful for the sacrifices that my parents made to send me there. The environment and education gave me a broad foundation and confidence that I hadn't receive before that point. Now that I have a daughter, I have already discussed with my husband sending her to Mercy for all the advantages that it gives young women. He agrees and she is only 2.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2006

Mercy changed my life- I wouldn't be who I am today without Mercy. It's a wonderful school. I'm the third generation to graduate from Mercy and hope to send my daughters there. Let's be honest, it's not perfect. I had one awful teacher, and I have some complaints about things in HRC while I was a member. But looking at the big picture most teachers at Mercy are wonderful, you get a sense that they truly care about the students. And when it comes to diversity I feel safe saying you can't get better than Mercy. I will say, if you re looking for a 'traditional' Catholic school, with nuns carrying rulers, indoctrinating religion instead of seeking academic excellence and respect for all people- Mercy isn't for you. But if you re looking for a school that will prepare one for college, and create life long friendships, it is. 150 words aren't enough.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2005

If I ever had to say what my best decision was, it would be going to Mercy High School. Mercy was an outstanding school that taught me so much more than anything ever will. At Mercy, girls are taught to accept everyone. We had such a bond that I am blessed to say when I graduated I did not graduate with 199 classmates, but rather 199 sisters. The teachers are incredible and always, always willing to help. I never once woke up in the morning not wanting to go to school. The support system at Mercy is absolutley unbelievable. It is a catholic school, but the catholic faith is not constantly pushed onto the students and I had several friends that were not Catholic. Mercy will always hold a special place in my heart. the motto Women who make a difference, it does just that. I would reccomend Mercy to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2005

At first I did not want to go to Mercy, but when I got there I fell in love with it. My time at Mercy was amazing! I met so many great people, and met some great friends. I love being able to go back and get together with my friends and pick off right where we left off. At Mercy there were so many different cultures, and believe it or not, but different religions too. I learned a lot there, and it definately prepared me for college. The transition was a lot easier, and for that I am thankful. I loved my teachers, and I cannot wait to got back and visit.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2005

Mercy High School is the worst school I could have ever chosen! I thought I was going to a private school, where academics would pushed, but instead academics were a joke there! Every day we would have off hours, with no classes. Leading to only having 5 classes a day at the most, with the expection of straight days, which were one every two weeks. I also thought that there would be morals taught at the school, but there were not! Mercy is the most liberal school ever, its worst than going to public school. The girls at Mercy are out of control, there is drugs, party girls, girls also had phsiyal fighting at Mercy and the teachers looked at them and looked away. I am so sad I picked Mercy and I hope you don't.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2004

An amazing education provided by outstanding teachers. I have become very close to my teachers and am not afraid to ask for help when help is needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter graduated from Mercy a couple years ago. I agree with her in saying it was the best choice of high schools that we could have made. Regardless of the all girl school, the students experience such a diversity of race and religions which is good. The Mercy experience is one like none other. The students create such a 'sister' bond which is unlike many other high schools. My daughter still remains friends with her Mercy friends. Their relationships have even outlasted her college experience. I would recommend Mercy as an excellent school with an excellent curriculum and fantastic teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 71%
African-American 15% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 9% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
Multiracial 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carolyn Witte
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (248) 476-3691

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29300 West 11 Mile Rd
Farmington Hills, MI 48336
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 476-8020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harrison High School
Farmington Hills, MI


Oakland Early College
Farmington Hills, MI


Farmington Central High School
Farmington Hills, MI


Farmington High School
Farmington, MI


Cloverdale School
Farmington, MI


North Farmington High School
Farmington Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT