Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Steppingstone School

Private | PK-8 & ungraded | 72 students

Steppingstone is best known for educating the whole gifted child, Gr K-8

 
 

Living in Farmington Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $94,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

Steppingstone School has challenged our son in the classroom while providing a supportive and safe environment. He is learning problem solving and critical thinking skills at a young age, which will definitely benefit him throughout his life. Students are friendly and supportive of each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Steppingstone school is the only school I know that accepts gifted learners who are obviously struggling. My son entered Steppingstone in 6th grade. He experienced a great deal of struggle until the school pointed out that he skipped little words while reading and suggested that he could have an eye convergence issue. A test confirmed that while he had 20/20 vision he had eye convergence insufficiency causing him to strain so much at any close up work that it caused symptoms similar to ADD. The school and I have been working together and I am happy to report that my son is doing well in school! Something any parent wants to hear! The school will adjust your child's learning plan. The only complaint I have is that the learning is not fully individualized. Your child will be placed in a specific grade for all major subjects (these could be different grades for different subjects). Their pace is in part dependent on the classes progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

Steppingstone School is a school with a strong academic focus. My child had tried both public and private schools before we arrived at this great institution. My child is finally challenged and getting a wonderful education. Every day my child arrives and leaves each school day happy because each day he is actually learning something new. He especially enjoys the critical thinking class where they reinforce and teach logical thinking. This school reflects our values in that each student is held responsible to get their homework done and also correct any mistakes they've made in their work so that the child is truly learning the material and not just memorizing what they've read. If your child is bored in school and isn't learning anything new don't let them languish there to the point where they are losing their enthusiasm for learning. Do you child a favor and send them to a place that specializes in expanding their minds, building their confidence and accelerating their capabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Steppingstone School not only offers a top notch education in math, science, literature and social studies, they also teach art, music,computer and foreign languages. So many schools have abandoned their art and music programs and it's wonderful to have our son at a school that still thinks these are important subjects for a well-rounded education. Bravo, Steppingstone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Steppingstone is an amazing school that provides wonderful opportunities for individual growth and exploration. The education my daughter received there is unparalleled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Steppingstone school is a one of a kind school. Not only are they genuinely interested in your kid's education but they are also interested in the parents education. Parents are actively involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Steppingstone is the best thing that happened to our family's education. All three of mine enjoy learning, not afraid to ask difficult questions, and expect themselves to do their best. All that without receiving a single grade! The amazing philosophy of steppingstone involves individual approach ,teaching children to learn and be engaged in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find a school where the teachers and staff care more about the students and there families than Steppingstone. It is truly a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

My son did not like school until he entered Steppingstone. No matter how hard he has to work; his new comment 'I love my school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Steppingstone school teaches students one of the most important tools for success in schools. They help students realize how they themselves learn best and how to learn in any environment. They truly prepare the kids for High school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Five stars to a great little school with a big heart. The school community (parents, teachers, administrators and office help) is amazing. Individualized curriculum with emphasis on a child's interests make the school experience enjoyable.


Posted August 12, 2013

Steppingstone is a resource for not only gifted students but their families and the regional gifted community. The teachers and administrators surround the students and their families with a supportive atmosphere that allows children who may have had horrific school experiences to excel academically and socially.


Posted August 11, 2013

If you have a Gifted child, there is no other school you could attend in Michigan with this type of "individualized" attention. The other so-called gifted schools in the state have sold out for the numbers and for tuition. Steppingstone is truly a strong academically challenging school that is unique and has not compromised its 33-year mission for tuition dollars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

This school is amazing. They take the time to learn about each student. With that effort, they are able to best maximize the learning opportunities for each child. There is no overwhelming need to conform; no 'teaching to the test' but rather personal development and growth with the goal of nurturing well--rounded, happy and successful kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

I have two children at this school, and am thrilled at the opportunities that they have here that were not available through public school. They are excited about learning, challenged in a positive way, and have amazing peers. In this environment where kindness and respectfulness are cultivated, my oldest underwent a transformation from despairing and cut off from other students (at public school) into an outgoing and engaging girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

Our kids started at Steppingstone 6 years ago. There were many changes (location, enrollment, etc) but there were few things that have stayed true the entire time: - quality of teachers - quality of teaching -safe environment for all kids -challenging academics for each child (based on their individual levels) - encouraging In addition to the academics they also provide unique approach to kids learning about basic life skills once they get to the middle school class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

I attended this school back when it began in the 80's, and I feel that it really prepared me for the "real world." Because they focus on all aspects of development, not just academics or athletics, I felt that I graduated well-rounded in all areas - sports, art, music, academics, and interpersonal relationships. I was confident and capable, which was the greatest gift I could have received from my teachers and the environment. I was on the honor roll when I left, attended college and made honor roll there, and have just completed my master's.


Posted September 14, 2007

After having exhaustively researched area schools for a strong curriculum with lots of basics plus foreign languages, art, music and more, that is taught to the individual child's needs (definately not 'to the test'!), Steppingstone is the best, hands down. Small, safe environment where teachers know all the kids, a climate of mutual respect and understanding, and a very good tuition value given all the attention and several free afterschool programs that are fantastic. Haven't found the 'perfect' school, but this one gets 'A''s in all the areas important to us. There is no gym, they do a great job with physical education and recess with the kids outside a lot and use of area facilities for things like ice skating, swim lessons, etc. (all covered by tuition). The teachers are well trained, communicative, and team-oriented. They graduate really good kids that are good workers, nice people and ready for high school honors classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

Steppingstone School is an outstanding school for gifted children. Sending my son to Steppingstone was one of the best decisions that I have made. He attended for 8 years and is now a very successful High School student. Steppingstone has outstanding teachers, flexible program that allows your child to progress academically at a pace that continues to challenge them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My two children have been at Steppingstone for 2 years. It has been a very good experience, especially for my son, who was having a lot of problems at his previous school (where they would call me at least twice a week to report his disruptive behavior). When he got to Steppingstone the problems melted away because he was no longer bored, frustrated, and angry. This made life in our home more peaceful too. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and available, and each of them welcomes phone calls in the evening for any issues that come up. The small size was appealing to us and helps to create a nice school community/environment where all of the teachers know all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • NUMATS (2013)
  • NUMATS (2012)
  • NUMATS (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Friends of the Rouge (2013)
  • Friends of the Rouge (2012)
  • Friends of the Rouge (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kiyo A. Morse
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (248) 957-8203

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Independent studies
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Bus for Farmington residents
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Friends of the Rouge
  • MI Philharmonic
  • Polaris
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
  • Western martial arts
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
  • Western martial arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Advocate for gifted education
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Steppingstone MAgnetic Resonance Training (SMART) Ctr is the only known science lab research program for Gr 6-12 in the world. Graduating 8th graders typically score in the 99th+ percentile on nationally normed achievement tests. Aim is for well-rounded leaders as well as academically excellent students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Montessori
Public

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$15000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Brother Rice
Cranbrook
Mercy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30250 Grand River
Farmington Hills, MI 48336
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 957-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Concordia Lutheran North
Farmington Hills, MI


Bais Menachem Academy
Farmington Hills, MI



J.A. Lanigan Elementary School
Farmington Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT