Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Steppingstone School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a Steppingstone student, I watch other student's come into the school and are transformed. Many have been traumatized in public school and within a few weeks are happy and productive students. I have witnessed other parents go from tears to smiles when they drop their child off to school at Steppingstone. It is truly a strong academic learning environment for the gifted. The reason the student body is small is because they have never comprised their standards for numbers or tuition as all of the gifted schools have done. They truly recognize a gifted student and educate them in an individualized setting like no other school in the state. They may not have all of the glitz and glamour as some of the larger schools, but the academic rigor is incomparable.

Steppingstone School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
When do you decide that your child needs to have 'great education' and be challenged: when they are in elementary or middle or high school, or you do not worry about it until they (try to) get to the college? Steppingstone is small community on its own. Since our first child enrolled when he was 1st grade, we never looked back. Steppingstone provided encouraging, safe and stable environment for kids. The teachers and the school principal work with parents to help kids grow to be responsible, and confident


Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Enrolling our children here has transformed our lives individually and as a family by taking the boredom and struggle away and deeply engaging the kids as individuals. Stepping Stone is their extended 'family.' Every aspect of curriculum and instruction has been thoughtfully designed for quick learners, asynchronous or otherwise, addressing perfectionism and anxiety common in gifted kids. We are grateful that math here is not fuzzy- kids study a unit until they master it and only then move on. (Most Detroit-area private schools, including those for gifted, use Chicago/Everyday Math.) Teachers are firm AND fun. Learning is hands-on and experiential. They're also learning computer programming, how to design, conduct and interpret high level scientific research, as well as the challenging major world lamguages - Hindi, Chinese and Japanese. The kids are easily doing work a couple years advanced of what is being taught in most public and private schools. As parents we now feel confident our kids are learning what they need to be resourceful, happy and productive future leaders. Headmistress Kiyo Morse is a quiet educational pioneer. We love the school and faculty.

Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The faculty has a real desire to have their students excel. The students are challenged daily and are expected to go above and beyond

Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
They've taken the time to get my child motivated and successful. He has access to more subjects in more depth than my other two in public school.


Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My kids love going to school, and miss it in the summer. The teachers work with the students to keep them challenged in every subject so that they don't get bored.

Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Steppingstone School The school is working diligently to raise funds for a STEM Robotics lab for all of the students to take part in. Steppingstone School is a school for uniquely gifted children . There is no other school in Michigan that provides the individualized learning that his school does. It is a blessing for parents of gifted children. This lab will offer additional learning opportunities for all students. The funding would be used to complete a lab and purchase the necessary materials.

Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Steppingstone has been a wonderful school for my son. He was having challenges conforming to the expectations for the large group teaching approach used in public schools. Steppingstone provides the right amount of challenge and individual attention that my son requires as a gifted child. They teach all of the students personal responsibility for their own actions. All of the standard subjects are covered in addition to advance science, computer programming and foreign languages for all ages.


Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Steppingstone School has made our child love school. (For a tween that is hard to do!) At this school, students must complete all their work and achieve mastery of a subject. That means even if it is late, an assignment must be done which teaches children responsibility. I have also noticed that the teachers are extremely talented in relating to the students which helps the children achieve their potential and feel safe. Parents are extremely involved in the school and there is a great community. I have never encountered a school like this but I am sure glad I did.

Steppingstone School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Steppingstone School has challenged our son in the classroom while providing a supportive and safe environment. He is learning problem solving and critical thinking skills at a young age, which will definitely benefit him throughout his life. Students are friendly and supportive of each other.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Steppingstone School
30250 Grand River, Farmington Hills, MI  48336
(248) 957-8200
Last modified Steppingstone School is a Private school
Steppingstone School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top