Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
550 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillel Day School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The school has it all -- strong academics, a solid core of values and caring staff.

Hillel Day School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Robin Pappas is amazing. She knows all the kids, parents, extra caregivers and siblings. She really provides a personal touch that makes you know she truly cares about the students and the school.


Hillel Day School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Hillel and we are so thrilled. From intake to classroom we have had great experiences with staff. I leave my daughter daily, knowing she will be cared for by all staff as if she were their own. They make learning fun, interactive and relevant, and I know our values are being infused into her daily learning not just academically but socially.

Hillel Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Our daughter has grown and blossomed at Hillel's Early Childhood Centre. We come over from Canada 3 days a week - a 45 minute drive if traffic and the border cooperate, so that she can have a Jewish education in an environment that fosters Jewish values. Her teacher is warm and enthusiastic and knows exactly where our daughter is developmentally. We're very pleased with her experience there.

Hillel Day School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
Hillel Day School Is a private Jewish Day School that is caring, super educational, and forward thinking. It teaches its students and staff alike to value outstanding education, to help people in the community,, and above all, to value each other'similarities and differences. The staff at Hillel seeks to educate everyone,with the firm premise that everyone can learn. Others who visit are impressed by the friendliness of teachers and students alike. They walk around and see students engaged in learning and not just listening to lectures. The students learn the meaning of their religion and how it affects their daily lives. Lifelong friends are made and good values are carried with them wherever they go. Hillel is making structural changes and could use a bigger library inventory and a garden for a student learning center. Being a private school, funds are not always plentiful. An outside gift would be so very welcome. We would love to have the help!


Hillel Day School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
This is a state of the art, amazing and progressive school. There is nothing close to it in the area!

Hillel Day School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
I have only been a Hillel Parent for 2 months now but I can already confidently say that we made the right choice sending our child to Hillel. It goes without saying that the academic aspect of the school is top notch with exceptional teachers (two in each classroom in fact) and small class sizes. But what I like the best is the way that Hillel focuses on developing the whole child. The result is a group of extremely confident, charismatic, passionate and overall exceptional students.

Hillel Day School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Hillel Day School is an exceptional educational institution with incredible teachers that love their students and work hard to instill a love of learning and especially Jewish learning.


Hillel Day School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Hillel Day School provides a fantastic and safe enviornment for my child to receive a quality education and also learn how to be a good person. Hillel's approach to a combined judaic and general studies program enhances my child's learning experience. The small class sizes are amazing. Everyone at the school is so friendly, helpful and supportive. I would highly recommend Hillel.

Hillel Day School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Our school exemplifies all that is good in learning and being part of a community. Skilled teachers and a caring administration create a 'home away from home' for our children every day. Learning in the context of a dual curriculum --- every day consists of both general studies and Judaic studies --- our children receive an education that is second to none. Teachers keep students interested and help them reach their maximum potential by engaging them in thoughtful and nurturing ways. Parents can volunteer in meaningful ways which contributes to families feeling connected to their school. Great beauty exists in our school, which houses preschoolers through middle-schoolers. Role models are formed, friendships are made, and new meaning is found in shared experiences. As a parent, Hillel Day School has provided many reasons for us to feel pride and joy in the accomplishments of our children. As students, our children enjoy a love of learning while also feeling passionate about making the world a better place. Choosing Hillel Day School represents one of the best decisions we've made on our parenting journey. Our family has been enriched in ways that will last a lifetime.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillel Day School
32200 Middlebelt Rd, Farmington Hills, MI  48334
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (248) 851-3220
Last modified Hillel Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top