Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longacre Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 359 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

This will be my son's third year at Longacre. We did School of Choice and chose Longacre and we have been very happy. The teachers are wonderful and the admin staff is great. My son has special medical needs and the school staff has provided us with what we've needed to keep him healthy. We are very grateful to be at Longacre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

My school is an amazing place! It's a place where you'll see rich diversity with your eyes and feel the positive energy with your whole being. It's a place where kids are empowered to find their edge; where doing anything more would be too much; and doing anything less just wouldn't be enough. Longacre is the place to be. High achievement is the aim, you'll see. Finding balance is crucial and true. Everyone's learning and everyone's leading, too. With 17 years of Longacre pride, Tracy Goodlesky, first grade teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2014

When you walk through the doors at Longacre, you immediately know you are in a special place! The halls are bright and cheerful, the staff and students are happy, and everyone is a leader! I have been teaching since 1990 and have taught in several different schools. Longacre is the best of them all! The entire staff works hard to make connections with each and every student. Students are treated with respect, listened to, and cared for as if they were a part of our own families. This past year we were awarded Lighthouse status through the Covey Leader in Me School program. At the time only 89 schools, worldwide, had achieved Lighthouse status and only 5 of those were in Michigan! In order to achieve Lighthouse status Longacre had to meet 144 criteria. Our staff received this award with pride and love sharing our journey with others. We are preparing students for amazing futures where they will shine above the rest both socially and academically.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2014

This school is awesome! Who would have thought to teach the 7 habits to elementary school kids. When my kids do their homework without complaining because I asked them if they put first things first, what a school. These are life long skills to learn and better now then as an adult. The teachers are fabulous and the principle is highly engaged. The principle had been selected as the Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association Region 7 Elementary Principal of the Year, which covers Oakland County. The principle is at every extracurricular competition, which Longacre does very well at the local and state levels. My kids love Math Pentathlon but there are many other activities too. Check out the test scores. This is a result of a highly engaged principle, phenomenal teachers, and involved parents. Also the gym teacher received the distinction of being named the Champion for Health Winner of the Governor's Fitness Award. Longacre has the only choir in the district at an elementary school. I have a 4th and 2nd grader. They love their teachers and calling Longacre their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

This is the place where my children look forward to go every day, just because the entire staff has made this school such a fun learning place to be in. Staff is great, encouraging and caring! PTA and staff offer great enrichment programs. Being a Lighthouse school, it has more to offer in coming year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2014

I have 2 daughters that attend Longacre elementary School. I could not think of a better school for my daughters to grow up and become established. The teachers are all great, they all have genuine Care and concern for the children. Mrs. Ellison the Principle is awesome. Longacre became a Leader-in-me School and not even 2 yrs. later became 1 of 89 Light house schools In the whole entire world. Don't take my word see For yourself, what a wonderful school community we have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Longacre Elementary is a certified Leader in Me School with excellent caring staff, involved parents and has won many academic awards for Leadership in the community. Many great opportunities for growth from physical education, music, and extra curricular activities are available for our students. A positive learning environment where children are taught how to become Leaders of themselves and good citizens for our community. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Longacre is amazing!!!! My kindergarten daughter has been doing 1st grade math for half of the year! I love the diversity and the programs that they have for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Longacre is a wonderful school focused on learning and leading. There is a lot of parent involvement which is wonderful to see. My family chose to school of choice into Longacre and every day I am grateful and thankful for her opportunities there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Our family is very happy with the education that our child is receiving at Longacre. Every day children are greeted at the door by one or more smiling, energetic staff members. It is obvious to all students from the moment they enter the building that they are empowered to have a great day. The PTA is active and offers amazing programs for students and families and when issues arise (as they can with young children) the teachers and staff address the concerns with concern and possible solutions. Most importantly, the school is not just "teaching" students but they are preparing the children to become leaders by following the 7 Habits. Children set their learning goals and can identify the steps he/she will use to obtain that goal. We are looking forward to being a part of the Longacre community for the next 5+ years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The teachers and staff work as a team to provide the best education possible for our children. Plus provide team encouragement for each child to do their best in education, socially and physically. Be a team leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Longacre has the best community! Great teachers, wonderful families, and a commitment to positive education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

It is a wonderful school.My daughter loves it. Special mention for the principal Mrs. Lafer. She is a very proactive and hardworking. I am happy my kids go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 69%
Asian 34% 3%
African-American 11% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Barbara Elson
Fax number
  • (248) 489-3730

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34850 Arundel Dr
Farmington, MI 48335
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 489-3733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cloverdale School
Farmington, MI


Gill Elementary School
Farmington, MI



Power Upper Elementary School
Farmington Hills, MI


Hillside Elementary School
Farmington Hills, MI


J.A. Lanigan Elementary School
Farmington Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT