Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 551 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2011

North Road has been an awesome experience for our son. Every part of his day makes him feel special and cared for - teacher, staff, principal, lunch staff, aides, etc. He loves what he is learning and we appreciate the way his teacher empowers him to give his best. He feels safe and thinks that North Road is the best elementary school and he feels "sad" for the kids who have to attend the "other" two elementary schools in the district. Wonderful parents involved in the PTO. Awesome and caring teachers who take a personal interest in the students. Great principal and support staff in the office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

We absolutely love North Road. We switched our children from an neighboring district through Fenton's school of choice program. Our kids felt welcome immediately. Both our first grader and third grader were taught according to their independent abilities and given advanced instruction in reading and math. In a day that most public schools cater to the kids that aren't making "the grade", the staff at North Road value each student and teach to every ability within the IB curriculum. I couldn't be happier with our decision to move to North Road this year. Superior school! Superior leadership! Superior Teachers! Superior Education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Our son started in North Road. All was fine in young five's, we were very happy. Then he was placed in Mrs. Iverson's K class. What a disaster. This woman is READY to retire and it shows. She was short with the class often, even yelling at them to get coats on and such. We tried and tried to volunteer in the classroom but she kept giving us the brush-off. After the first semester and being denied access to the classroom we took it up with the principal. I mean, would you feel comfortable with your kid in a class the teacher won't allow you to observe? The principal got us in there but it was like pulling teeth. She was terribly cold to us and our son after that. We pulled him out and sent him to a nearby charter school. He's flourishing now in second grade, reading at the 8th grade reading level and loving every minute of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My kids love this school and the IB curriculum is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I have two children at North Rd. Elementary. My younger is 'special needs'. This school has really tried hard to meet his needs. He is flourishing now. My older son loves his school and his teachers. The principal is easy to reach and always helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

We switched to a different school in the Fall of 2006. We are so glad we did. North Road initially met our expectations, then slid downhill fast. Both our children had bullying situations that were not handled in a way we felt was caring and best for our children. It's a shame what happened.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2005

I have three children at this elementary school, and I have been very happy with my experience so far. The teachers are friendly, caring and very knowledgable. The principle is a visible figure in the school and often knows students by name. They have a very involved PTO organization, and provide many fun and educational activities for the students. My kids love North Road!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Candice Merivirta
Fax number
  • (810) 591-1505

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 North Rd
Fenton, MI 48430
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT