Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coolidge Intermediate School

Public | 4-6 | 318 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

My daughter attends Coolidge currently. The children in her class are very disruptive and hinder her learning. It is apparent that the teachers are dealing with this constantly as they do nothing about it. Principle is very understanding, but no action is taken. My child was physically pushed and the other child was supposed to be "suspended for the rest of the year" but when her mother came in and spoke with the principal the child was allowed back within a day or two. My child does not feel safe. The teachers are not understanding and actually discourage my child from asking questions (for fear that the teacher will belittle her; leading the classmates to tease her as well.) Sad. Obviously we will be in a new district this coming fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My child is doing very well at Coolidge. The administration and his teacher are all dedicated to education. Also, I am most impressed with the Music and Spanish programs; my son accelerates at both and he thoroughly enjoys both subjects. Hats off especially to Mrs. Snoddy and Mr. Frei...and all of the many caring and dedicated Teachers and Staff at Coolidge Intermediate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My child is about to complete her 3rd and final year at Coolidge Intermediate with an A+ average for all 3 years, this can't happen in a school that doesn't have a dedicated teaching staff and an administration that has re-focused its attention to the lower elementary students... As for other misinformed comments, this school as well as the district's enrollment is on the rise, while the limited number of 'schools of choice' students are being phased out and reduced yearly, and is now at or near 5% of the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I don't know what school the last parent goes to but at this school there is major bullying of students in this school ... they even had to put camera's on the bus due to the bullying and fighting. As one can see just from the scores for the shcool in the last couple years it has gone way down hill ... I have had children in this schools system for 18 years and it is no where near as well as a performance it was even 5 years ago. It is shocking how far down this school system has fallen. So many Ferndale students now go to other school systems due to this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

Coolidge Intermediate prepares students for middle school and the real world.. Tutoring by the child's teacher. Grade level lunches are peaceful and orderly. Instrumental music daily for 40 minutes in grade 5 & 6. Bullying is not allowed The principal knows all the children by name. It's safe and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

My child has had a wonderful learning experience at Cooldige Intermediate. In her three years there she has been able to excell in her studies, work on the school newspaper, take a drama class, a knitting class, choir,and particpate in the student banking as bank manager and a teller.The entire staff are dedicated caring people, who have taught her many life lessons and prepared her for her next step Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Horrible kids in the school. Bad attitudes sneaky vendictive and unfair treatment to kids. They care about rules then the fundamentals of learning. They are abusing the code of conduct. They make acceptions for some but not for others....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Horrible kids in the school. Bad attitudes sneaky vendictive and unfair treatment to kids. They care more about rules then the fundamentals of learning. They are abusing the code of conduct. They make acceptions for some but not for others....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

No where else in Ferndale can you find so many outstanding teachers and staff in one building. I love the fact that when I call the school the principal herself will actually answer the phone if the other secretaries are unavailable. Parking is an issue when attending the PTA sponsored events. Both my children have excelled at Coolidge before moving up to the middle school. Coolidge not only has a wonderful spanish class but a fabulous science program with their own lab!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

Coolidge Intermediate is a 'great' school with a motivated, dedicated staff. This school is home to a very diverse mix of students, made up of differing socioeconomic backgrounds from portions of 4 different and diverse cities. In a small school district, these schools continue to offer a full-service program, nourishing academics, music, art, and athletics, when many districts are cutting back or cutting them out altogether. The Coolidge PTA combined with that of Roosevelt Elementary, is and has been strong and thriving for many years, feeding the resources of the school with Enrichment Assemblies, Events, Field Trips, Teacher Grants and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

One has to wonder if the Jan 2006 poster is talking about the same school our children attend. There are no security issues whatsoever--the only open entrance door faces the school office, and if you dare take a step into the building the office staff will pounce on you. The school principal is top-notch--she's probably the best Principal in the district, and regularly stays in school past 6 PM to return every parent call for any problem. As far as parent involvement, did they come to the yearly Halloween party (500+ kids and parents) or the Craft Night (200+), or the monthly PTA meetings where they bake fresh cookies? And after school activities--did they forget the band concert, the Girl Scouts or upcoming Chess Club? Contact Coolidge directly (where the always pick up the phone) and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I moved back to Michigan from Florida because I wanted my children to attend Ferndale Schools. Coolidge Intermediate is a great school with wonderful students, staff and families with great community support. My sons love Coolidge. The have had lots of great experiences there. My boys love participating in the band at Coolidge. My oldest son loved the Junior NBA season and my middle son is anxiously awaiting his turn. Coolidge also helped me to instill the importance of saving money. The students at Coolidge run a school branch of Huntington Bank where students can open and maintain a real savings account. Career Day at Coolidge is also a wonderful experience for students to discover some of the many professions of the world. The students at Coolidge have a wonderful advantage over many other students because they get to learn and share in a culturally diverese and loving atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

As a parent of a Coolidge student I would have to disagree! This school has a wonderful faculity that if more parents would join the PTA and become involved more, would find out for themselves. Ms. Snoddy is wonderful with the students, and as far as there being no one to find if something happens, I am in that school sometimes more than the kids, and I have never seen where there is no one at the desk. The after school program is something that was in full effect before the holiday and will be starting back at the end of the month. I am appalled that anyone who volunteered or spent any time in this school would have negative things to say. Try spending some time with the staff, and try asking the students what they think, and I know you will form a whole different attitude!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

My son is in sixth grade at Coolidge, and his experience there has been very positive. His teachers have been excellent and provide constructive feedback on his work and behavior to him and to me. His teachers and the wonderful principal at Coolidge have been very caring and involved- they really seem to know my son very well and they care about how he is doing. There is a strong focus on character development at Coolidge, and an excellent music program. Areas of improvement include increased parent involvement at the school (although the parents who are involved are very active) and increasing the level of difficulty and challenge of the work assigned to Coolidge students. My concern is the the work is too 'easy' and the kids will have difficulty in middle school. However, the overall experience at Coolidge has been very positive, and my daughter will attend Coolidge next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

lack of afterschool ativities school has no security measures anyone can come in the building. When there is an afterschool program in the lunchroom, no one is there to answer the phones. So if something should happend you can't find anyone to answer the phone. There hardly is any parent involvement an some of the teachers have threatend parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 60% 18%
White 26% 69%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eric Bruner
Fax number
  • (248) 586-8754

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2521 Bermuda Street
Ferndale, MI 48220
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 547-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT