Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ferndale High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
Our Computer Programming teacher at the time, the name escapes me because of my memory loss but she had curly hair and gave us a fundamental exercise, and although it was meant to show us that we really needed to break down our programming codes into subroutines and step by step instruction for a program to work, it also thought me how to do it in all areas of life and business. "How many steps does it take to open the door from where you are right now?" write as many steps as you can think of.

Ferndale High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
The teachers were great and cared about the students when I attended in the 90's


Ferndale High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
There was a great balance between vocational, theoretical arts and athletic curriculum at this school in the 90's when I attended.

Ferndale High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
There was a competitive spirit at this school and the instructors at the time were encouraging, motivating, and knowledgeable.

Ferndale High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
I don't have enough memory to voice my opinion on this one way or another.


Ferndale High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
I don't have enough memory to give an opinion on this one way or another.

Ferndale High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
There was some bullying from the few memories that came back to me but this was 20+ years ago.

Ferndale High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Awesome! They have a wonderful OTC that give the student realistic options for a great future jobs. Great Music program, parent involvement. Also the students are great with teens with disabilities. Really hard working teachers!


Ferndale High School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
This is a community school with many opportunities for students. The staff, administration and educators are intelligent, caring and diligent.

Ferndale High School 3

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
My children attend Ferndale Public Schools. I have two children within the district. The curriculum that has been exhibited by the school has been amazing. I have been pleased until the school district decided to change an elementary school from multi-age to open classroom as a whole. In my opinion this was not the best decision to move the school forward. It takes the choice away from the parent. The open classroom instruction from my understanding will prohibit grades. I think grades are a tremendous aspect of the vitality in measuring student knowledge and growth. I need to know which percentile my child falls. Is she/he in the 77th; 85th or 92th percentile. GRADES are important and must be recognized. If and when your child arrives at college grades will be measured and used as a qualifying factor not meets expectations. Meets expectations does not tell me if a I have an A or D student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferndale High School
881 Pinecrest Drive, Ferndale, MI  48220
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (248) 548-8622
Last modified Ferndale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top