Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ferndale High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Awesome! They have a wonderful OTC that give the student realistic options for a great future jobs. Great Music program, parent involvement. Also the students are great with teens with disabilities. Really hard working teachers!

Ferndale High School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
This is a community school with many opportunities for students. The staff, administration and educators are intelligent, caring and diligent.


Ferndale High School 3

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
My children attend Ferndale Public Schools. I have two children within the district. The curriculum that has been exhibited by the school has been amazing. I have been pleased until the school district decided to change an elementary school from multi-age to open classroom as a whole. In my opinion this was not the best decision to move the school forward. It takes the choice away from the parent. The open classroom instruction from my understanding will prohibit grades. I think grades are a tremendous aspect of the vitality in measuring student knowledge and growth. I need to know which percentile my child falls. Is she/he in the 77th; 85th or 92th percentile. GRADES are important and must be recognized. If and when your child arrives at college grades will be measured and used as a qualifying factor not meets expectations. Meets expectations does not tell me if a I have an A or D student.

Ferndale High School 1

Posted August 15, 2011
- a student
This school should be bulldozed. Maybe it was a halfway decent school 50 years ago, but now it is the bottom of the barrel. It is no better than the worst inner-city school. It is a launching pad for new teachers and counselors who can't get a job anywhere else, or old teachers who could care less, and only want to finish out their time until retirement. The staff here DOES NOT CARE. It's that simple.

Ferndale High School 1

Posted January 16, 2011
- a student
I graduated from this school. The counselors did nothing to further my education and the teachers really did the minimum. The safety of the children is a concern.


Ferndale High School 4

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
This is a grea school. My children are new to the district and I am very pleased with the staff and the Ferndale community as a whole. I am very glad I moved out of Detroit, and out of DPS.

Ferndale High School 4

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
I am a proud parent of FHS. I have never encountered anything but the finest from the teachers, counselors, principals, and administrative staff.

Ferndale High School 3

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ferndale High School 1

Posted October 09, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ferndale High School 3

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferndale High School
881 Pinecrest Dr, Ferndale, MI  48220
(248) 548-8600
Last modified Ferndale High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ferndale High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.