Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


University High School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
I really enjoy the interactions my son is able to have with his teachers it shows that the teachers care about the education

University High School 4

Posted July 28, 2013
- a student
I like it here yes i has its flaws but its and okay school. I like the academics and the administration involvement . The students are rowdy but in the end its cool i like it and i would recommend it there is a friend there for everyone.


University High School 1

Posted August 30, 2010
- a student
Horrible school. The students are ghetto. This school is nothing compared to Ferndale High School. The building is to small, we have no books or extracurricular activities. I'm leaving.

University High School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
I think that this is one of the best school within in the Metro area. We enrolled my grandson because his choices were very limited within the Detroit Public school district. The choices were not good at all. Upon meeting the principal and staff and heard what they had to say about education and students, my husband and myself was very inpressed. My grandson didn't want to go because there wasn't alot of extracurricular activities. Now he's aways talking about the great staff and students. I was also impressed when I got to work and the owner's father appoached me and told me to let my grandson know that he had read in the newswpaper about University High and he had made a great choice in choosing to stay there. I have recommended this school to family and friends. Students are very respectful to the neighborhood as well.

University High School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a student
this school is horrible we only have books for 9th grade in civics ad biology we have 1:30 min classes and that gets tirin these teachers are horrible they are more worried about cell phones and uniform than the education lately we have been havin petty fights over peples man or woman


University High School 4

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
Very pleased with the schools program. The school offers lots of support for the students and encourages students to focus on going to college and provides great resources to help determine the best college for their field of study.

University High School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
My son's first year was interesting because BAMN showed up. However, I chose this school as well as my son because this is a college prep school. It is preparing him for things in life that over the years he is going to need to use! This has been by far a great school and experience for my son. In Tenth grade he has already started preparing himself for college. The kids at this school don't care about looks and popularity etc. They are truly there to learn and it shows! Thumbs up!

University High School 5

Posted July 26, 2009
- a student
I love the school.I get to have one on one with my teachers which makes it alot easier for me.


University High School
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
The thing I like most are the small interpersonal relationships between the students and the teachers and also the strong focus on academic achievement, versus who is the most popular person on the team or in a club. It's not one of those schools where your child gets lost in the shuffle, when you attend parent teacher conference, the teachers are able to specifically tell you about your child and that's a good thing because by now we know our children/teenagers and we know exactly when the teachers are on point so it's not a guessing game and also the students and parents are encouraged to stay in tune through the snap grades system.

University High School 4

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
My son enjoys going to UHS he likes his teachers and the students. There classes are set up different than most. they spend more time in there classrooms. I recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University High School
1244 Paxton Street, Ferndale, MI  48220
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (248) 586-8846
Last modified University High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top