Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Flint, MI
Students enrolled: 1,156
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kearsley High School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
Good education and programs.

Kearsley High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school Have had 2 kids graduate from there working on my 3rd and last one. Smaller home town feel type school with big results..Caring teachers just a great school system...Go Kearsley Hornets!!


Kearsley High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
They go above and beyond to assist the kids in every area of academics and athletics. All staff members are fully committed to the kids in their school.

Kearsley High School 4

Posted August 12, 2010
- a student
There's nothing wrong with the teachers at Kearsley. If it seems they're indifferent, it's probably because they're burned out and tired of dealing with students that just don't care anymore (seemingly the majority of students when I went through). If a student doesn't WANT to learn, the best teacher in the world cannot change that. I've witnessed teachers at the school genuinely get excited when curious, willing students sit in their classrooms. It makes a difference. I was not the most successful socially, but was never the victim of a teacher's favoritism for an athlete, nor did I witness any. Popular students weren't mean to me either. I respected them, and they me. Budget issues have plagued the school lately and as a result, the Arts program has taken a big hit. This is unfortunate, but understandable. The department just doesn't bring in as much money as say... athletics.

Kearsley High School 1

Posted April 07, 2010
- a student
As a student of Kearsley, I feel that the education is undermined and low on the needs scale. Athletics and 'popular' students are given moire rights and almost no responsibilities. Where as the 'outcasts' are left to pick up the slack of those that are given a break due to late practices or late games. The students are rude, discriminative, and just plain out immature. There are over the necessary amount of swearing, fighting, skimpy clothing, and bulling. As a student at the 'beloved' KHS, i recommend not sending your child here if you want them to have a true education.


Kearsley High School
no rating

Posted September 06, 2008
- a student
I am a Senior for the class of 2009. The band does have a wonderful reputation. As does the choir. Both Band and Choir have taken 1s and 2s consistently. Mr. Redfearn is by far the best choir director that the school has had not to be exceeded by Bushey of course. Also the administration is very caring.Also the Athletes are treated the same as the out casts thank you and please conisder Kearsley its a great great school

Kearsley High School 3

Posted June 30, 2008
- a student
As a student here of course I dont really care for the school. The students are rude, mean, etc. The teachers don't feel like going the extra mile for their students. The math teachers dont help the students as well as they sould. The athletes get away with so much and the 'outcasts' get caught when the athletes usually are the ones doing more bad stuff (smoking, drinkin, etc) Overall I wouldnt suggest the school. Send your child elsewhere.

Kearsley High School 4

Posted August 29, 2006
- a parent
My son graduated from Kearsley in 2003. I graduated from there in 1980. I think that it is a very community oriented school, which is a good thing. They have cliques like other schools, but overall, I would consider it a good school, both from a parent's and a student's point of view. They have a nice balance between sports and fine arts.


Kearsley High School 1

Posted July 02, 2006
- a parent
My children attended Kearsley schools. Oldest graduated after working very hard under some very unfortunate circumstances and the other has been pulled out entirely. Administration and faculty accountability are a huge issue. Nonathletic students and those who are not at the top of the social ladder will find themselves at a disadvantage. Teachers at the elementaries and middle school do not prepare students grammatically for the higher grades and substandard work is accepted. Shockingly, I encountered elementary teachers that encouraged me to medicate my child. Obviously academics were not the priority. Much tension exists in the community. Students are secondary to administration and faculty wants and needs. Kearsley has an excellent band program that is sadly overlooked when compared to its contemporary, the school choir-which is overrated. I encourage parents to look elsewhere for an empowering educational experience for their children.

Kearsley High School 4

Posted September 13, 2005
- a student
As a student at KHS. I believe the math porgram is terrible in the middle schools.only some math teachers put an effert at there job. Kearsley is a good school in some ways and a bad in others. The athletics at kearsley are ok. There softball program is the best there. they need to start kids out at a younger age to get the athletics better. Parent involvement is ok, i guess. i am not a parent so i wouldn't know. Well if you ever get a chance i would go to one of the softball games and see the great fields and softball parents help they have up there. :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearsley High School
4302 Underhill Drive, Flint, MI  48506
(810) 591-5313
Last modified Kearsley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kearsley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top