Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Pius X School

Private | PK-8 | 216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flint

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

Wonderful education and staff. Amazing leadership. There is a great sense of community in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

I advise you not to join this school! The principal discriminates against anyone who does not believe or think the way he does. The staff is very unprofessional, they don't listen to children's problems. This school provides no help for students in need. I have heard many countless concered parents tell me that their kids have been shown inappropriate videos by the principal. I have decided to pull my child from this school. I pray that you take my advice in not joining this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

Truly caring teachers. Strong consideration for the needs of each family. Clear and active teachings of our Catholic faith. If you're expecting an excellent education in a moral, faith-filled environment, this school is for you! If you're expecting the perfect school and for everything to go your way, no school is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

We attended this school briefly based on the glowing reviews here. We left shortly after attending. The Administration and Teachers were both dishonest and argumentative with us when questioning their actions. If you have children attending this school, I would recommend that you pay close attention to their activities. Look beyond the Sales Pitch. There are better choices for Catholic Families near by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This school is such a caring and wonderful school that makes the students a priority and helps them to become good citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

This school has a great community atmosphere. There are strengths and weaknesses academically by teacher and grade, which are accentuated by there being only one class for each grade. Also, the make-up of each class can set the tone for your child's school experience. We enrolled our child in kindergarten and moved at the end of the year. The make-up of the classroom was very active and the teacher was kind but in the new school we attended, we found that our child was behind the other children in basic skills. I think that the staff is caring and takes a personal interest in each child. It did appear, from conversations with other parents, that discipline in the upper grades especially, tended to be more punitive than based on preventative positve reinforcement. The principal is enthusiastic, approachable and will work to address individual problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

This is a wonderful school where there is a family atmosphere. The teachers truly care about the students and help them to succeed no matter their learning level. Teachers have high expectations, and the students are challenged and engaged in their learning. I also like the way that the Catholic faith is emphasized throughout the curriculum and day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

Great school with Awsome teachers. The only school I would send my children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

We are more than happy with St Pius X. Our son is challenged, he is happy and he loves his teachers. It's important to us too, that he is learning daily not only about how to practice his faith, but about how to be a good person, how to treat others with respect and kindness. That's the kind of education we want for our son, because nothing means more to us than his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My wife is sending her kid here, and apparently it is much better than the previous school. I no longer have to worry about fighting and bullying at school. The biggest plus is that the students' work is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

St Pius X School, Flint, MI is Awesome, I cannot imagine sending my kids to any other school...The Principal, Teachers, Students and Parents are excellent....go for a tour check it out..worth the extra Dollars to send them there
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
African-American 15% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. R. J. Kaplan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (810) 235-2675

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

G3139 Hogarth Ave Ste 1
Flint, MI 48532
Phone: (810) 235-8572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cummings School
Flint, MI






Dye Elementary School
Flint Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT