Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John Vianney Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 37 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flint

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

I have three children who have gone through SJV and could not be happier with the outstanding education they received. Dedicated and highly qualified teachers, family environment where my children thrived! We love SJV!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

My son just completed 8th grade at this school. I can't say enough about the wonderful education he has received while at St. John Vianney! The teachers are great and the curriculum is outstanding! As a parent of a student I can say that the experience of being a part of this school is one that our entire family will dearly miss. They truly care about each child. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

This catholic school is behind time in every facet of education compared to any other catholic school in this area. Most of the teachers are negative, judgmental and stubborn. The dress code and rules are out-dated and old, just like the building which is freezing cold in the winter and burning hot in the summer. The books we are using are 30 years or older, which is sad. They're always asking my parents for more money, besides the tuition fee, but I never notice any improvements around the school. The parents are asked to drive throughout the year on several field trips and never shown any appreciation. A gas card, a luncheon, or any act of gratitude would be nice for parents who volunteer their car, gas, and time to help supervise & transport the students. I noticed certain students are favored due to the parent involvement in the school. Teachers and parents gossip a lot which I think is childish. I would expect the parents and teachers to lead by example and show a God-like attitude. When coming to this school, I was expecting a more God-like environment and better educational benefits. It seems that this school is just as bad as a public school, but they claim its better.


Posted August 15, 2013

St. John Vianney School is very outdated with their rules, dress code, and the textbooks are old. The teachers are stuck 25 years in the past and refuse to step up into the 21st century methods of teaching which require the teachers to listen, adapt, and accommodate the individual needs of each and every student. There is a lot of gossip among the parents and teachers, which is very immature and unprofessional. There are many cliques, favoritism among the students that have parents that are constantly brown-nosing the teachers by paying additional money and buying equipment that the school can purchase. They're always asking for additional money, aside from required tuition, which I am yet to see any noticeable improvements that the school has made such as, their own school bus, sports field, bleachers for the gym, auditorium and paid volunteers to supervise the students at recess, lunch, field trips, and other activities that teachers are not supervising the students. Each school year, parents are asked to put in 10 parent hours or pay $150 extra at the end of the year. I don't know where that money is going but I believe that money should go to the things I just listed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

This school has been nothing but detrimental to my child both academically and emotionally. The teacher was a very negative, selfish, and judgmental individual who did not value the students. The overall feel of the environment at this school is one of exclusivity where students are not valued for their differences. Personnel seem more concerned about the institution than the students they are supposed to be educating. It is unfortunate that some of the teachers are not invested in the education of the students. There is also a lot of gossip that happens in the parking lot between parents and sometimes even in the halls between parents and teachers. Very sad for a school that claims to have God at its center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

My daughter has been going to SJV for the past 8 years and will now be going to 8th grade and makes me very sad that this is her final year because I love this school-teachers-parents so very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Best school in Flint. Really helps make Flint a better place through peace.I will always rember this school for the great place it is.


Posted December 3, 2009

This is an excellent school with a great system for parent involvement. The students come from a very wide variety of economic and ethnic backgrounds. There is a nice balance between academics, arts and physical education. A beautiful playground, a committed staff and involved parent community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

I enrolled my two boys last school year. They were both in the public school system prior to last year. I yearned for an environment that fostered both excellent academics and a Christian attitude. The public schools have taken God out of the students day, St. John Vianney has given me the security of knowing that my children are praying, attending mass and inviting God into their day, everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

St. John Vianney Catholic School provides the finest experiences and opportunities for children, who are our treasures and our future. As a staff, we strive to enable students to achieve their dreams. Our parents are an integral part of our school, and their commitment and support to our mission of educating their children enables us to do more for and with our students. Each student is challenged, supported, encouraged, motivated, and nurtured adacemically, spiritually, and socially. We are a family, and respect and love each other as such. The success of each of our students is testimony to the effort that is made to meet the individual needs of each child who is a member of the SJV Family. Learn more about St. John Vianney Catholic school at www.SJVKIDS.com.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

National standardized test show that this school ranks as one of the top in the nation. This school has everything a parent could ask for and more. From an award winning music/voice program, spanish classes and computer lab to a symphonic band and a full menu of extracurricular sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 69%
African-American 30% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 1%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Reynolds
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (810) 235-2811

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2319 Bagley Street
Flint, MI 48504
Phone: (810) 235-5687

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cummings School
Flint, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT