Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Paul Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2010
- a community member
The Christian atmosphere and teachers.

St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
St. Paul gives the kids diversity, an excellant education and a caring staff. I am on child number two there and wouldn't consider anyplace else.


St. Paul Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
I have 3 grandchildren there who are receiving a top rate education and learning to love the Lord!

St. Paul Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The school offers very managable class sizes where each teacher and administrators know the children, their parents and the family dynamics. It's a place where the principal loves on the children when they pass in the hallways, the teachers pray with the kids about things they struggle with and works with the parents to nuture the children to bring out the best in efforts and abilities as well as attitude and spirit. This school brings in families from all over Flint and surrounding communities, it demonstrates common bonds of love between all races and backgrounds. This sets the basis for a healthy community when generations learn to dismiss imaginary and unfounded boundaries that tend create divisions of misunderstanding between black and white, urban and rural, Asian, middle-eastern, and western cultures. The kids get it, it's a lesson, we as parents need o be reminded of and we are at St. Paul Lutheran School. The parental involvement is astounding. The PTLS group (parents and teachers of Lutheran schools) is well coordinated in assisting the teachers and staff in helping to provide what is needed to make the school successful and runs a number of fund raisers to be able to provide scholarships to needy families so all who are interested may have a chance to attend this school. Regarding Academic results, from fundamentals to specialized training, this school is set apart from others - and they do it on a shoestring budget. A literal fraction of what the public community receives per child in operating costs(approximately 1/2 what public schools recieve per child in subsidies) They can do it primarily because the teachers and administrators view this school as a mission to their community and are committed to the children and families they serve, and are willing to take far less for salary here compared to what they could earn elsewhere, because of that vision. One example about how our school excels is in their success in recent years of 'Book Bowl' competition. Teams of Children read and re-read a number of selected books. They work with a faculty coach to dive in and dig out the details of each book. Drilling with possible questions until they know each one inside out. Then they compete against other schools in the area (many with 100's more children to potentially make up a team). Answering unknown quiz questions on the books. Because of the supreme effort the faculty leader and children put in to the cause, our school was rewarded with over 8 years of championships in a row! The last few years found both our 'A' and 'B' teams we fielded meeting in the finals. What made the difference? Well, one child we knew who was on a team from another school bragged that they were on top of things this year as they had developed over 100 questions to drill with on a book. Our daughter humbly informed him that they had it easy since we had developed over 800 questions on each book with which to drill. Are we dominant in all endeavors? No, but the principles of working smart and deligently to reach your goals is always taught, and when we fall short, demonstrating a positive attitude towards the other team is stressed. Can you tell I love this school? And my kids do too! It is a sacrifice to send the kids here as it is out of our area and a 25 minute drive, and I struggle to pay the tuition (as it is addition to paying property taxes which go to fund our local public school). So we have these extra burdens, but we gladly bear it because it is a priviledge and an investment in our future. There is so much more I could say! If there was anyway you could ever visit the school, or just call and talk to Principal Mary Lynn Buck even for a few minutes, you would see why I am totally sold on St. Paul and you will be too. Thanks! Dave Potts

St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted September 15, 2010
- a parent
We had two children graduate from St. Paul Lutheran School, attending grades 1-8. Very nice school, caring and supportive environment. Both children well prepared for high school. Oldest attended private HS and graduated in the top 10% of class; currently attending college and doing very well. Youngest attends public HS and is in top 10% of class, also doing very well. We highly recommend St. Paul Lutheran School.


St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
My child just entered his 1st grade year at St. Paul Lutheran School in Flint MI. The school is fantastic all the way around and we are proud to say we feel right at home.

St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
Wow, what can i say! i have had three children graduate from st. Paul. They were well ahead of their classmates as they moved to flushing high school. They were NHS students and two are now in honors programs in college. Academics are top-notch. Check out MEAP scores. The real reason for the school however, is to proclaim the love of Jesus! it's a gret church and school

St. Paul Lutheran School 1

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
I did not find out until my son enrolled in Grand Blanc that St. Paul's curriculum is nowhere in line with public curriculum. He was behind in several subjects and he really had to work to catch up.


St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted March 25, 2008
- a student
I go there and all the teachers and other students are involved. The learning really helped my sister in high school! Thank you St. Paul.

St. Paul Lutheran School 5

Posted February 21, 2008
- a parent
I am a current parent of a child at St. Paul. We can not say enough wonderful things about this school. This school provides excellent academics and the added benefit of an atmosphere that is family. We all care and know each other. We love St. Paul.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Paul Lutheran School
402 South Ballenger Hwy, Flint, MI  48532
(810) 239-6733
Last modified St. Paul Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Paul Lutheran School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top