Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dye Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 566 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2010

Dye Elementary continues to help parents to stay involved with their child's learning process.


Posted November 3, 2009

I think Dye Elementary is a great school with great learning programs expecially the reading program they have to build your child reading skills. The principal cares and the teacher cares!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Dye Elementary is the best elementary in Carman-Ainsworth district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

The staff works with me to meet the individual needs of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Dye because Aliza Grant is a counselor there! Thanks for all you do, Aliza!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The staff and students make for a very diverse community, that all seem to get along and make learning important, yet enjoyable.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2009

I like the teachers and all the kids that go there.


Posted September 25, 2009

The children at Dye Elementary are Wonderful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2009

Even though we have a high population of at-risk students, we make adequate yearly progress in all subject areas. Thanks to great teacher, programs, and services!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2009

Friendly Staff and great Families


Posted September 24, 2009

Dye Elementary has great dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Dye has the best students and the best staff! It is one great big family where everyone is always welcome. I am a staff memeber and I have actually ran into teachers who have subbed in our building and they have sought me out to come and tell me what a nice experience they had working in our building. Said they felt like everyone was so helpful and went out of their way to make sure they had a great day :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I think that Dye Elementary School is a great place for a child to start their educational career. The principal is wonderful, she is very dedicated to her students and they have lots of great after school family activities. I have two children there right now and have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 53% 18%
White 28% 69%
Multiracial 12% 2%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Detra Fields
Fax number
  • (810) 591-3310

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1174 South Graham Rd
Flint, MI 48532
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-3229

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cummings School
Flint, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT