Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Robert Bellarmine Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 26 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Flushing

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

It's an amazing school...what's more amazing is the negative comment left about our principal - most likely by an angry parent that left our school last year because she didn't get her way. Too bad people like that continue to spread such negativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

Did not realize how bad this school was until after my kids were out of there, they said after one month at a new school, "everyone is really nice here and happy". That is not an environment I would want my students to learn in. Also I agree with several other parents. If the principal thinks your a society "somebody" (in FLINT???), then you have preferential treatment and no trouble. If your darker complected, look out. I had the feeling that Flushing was trying to be something they really are not. If you notice, many homes in this community were repossessed during the tough times. More people here are living beyond their means than any other community in the area. According to a Citizens bank report many years ago that was shared, Mt Morris had more money in the bank per capita than any other outlying community. Sometimes looks are deceiving.....They think they have something....Maybe they should try getting out of Michigan for a minute.


Posted April 27, 2011

Our three sons went all the way through St. Robert School and did very well. All have excellent jobs, loving families and they still attend church. What more could a parent ask. The friends they made are friends for life. The foundation that St. Robert offers students gives them an excellent start to life. Involved parents see firsthand the caring and loving atmosphere. Teachers are devoted to their career because they do not work for just a paycheck. Check out the school and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

If a child needs support, it ends up being the child is failing and troubled. The principal does not deal with any issues. We went to the office for one thing and we were considered problematic. I am not sure what the criteria is to be considered one of the "IN" crowd, but possibly it would be your income. What they preach is not what the school is portraying to the students. I would not recommend this school to anyone and almost would recommend running the other way.


Posted February 21, 2010

Very high learning scores with a staff who cares and a Christian environment that creates great young adults. St. Roberts students always mature to be the top of their class in high school, college and at whatever they put their mind to. Mine did. Yours will too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

It is a great place for your kids to start their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Great safe, caring environment with incredible teachers and happy atmosphere. No worries with this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 22, 2009

My children all learned to write, a skill that isn't considered important anymore. Good math, good science, many atheletic options based in good sportsmanship. Hot lunch is quality with a great salad bar. Church every week. priced fairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I was a student at St Roberts and I am now in high school. I have been confronted with difficult social choices in my junior year and my faith lessons and mentors at St Roberts have been a continuing source of guidance even after I graduated from St Roberts. I am always welcome there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

My children all graduated from St.Roberts. All on the college Deans list and faith filled young adults. Strong experienced leadership principal with a staff that cares deeply for the children. Best school in Flushing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I have 2 little ones ar StRoberts. What a great place to excite a young mind about school, the Catholic faith and learning! They jump on the bus every morning smiling and wave good bye, and I know from what goes on there they are safe and learning. The staff makes less money in a private school and are there because they want to be. Great to excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I am a parent of 2 former students who attended St Robert School . The experience was priceless and my boys went on to very successful High School and Collegiate careers! They were both very well prepared both academically and spiritually! I definately recommend St Robert School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

The school has issues with bullying and teasing that need to be addressed. The principal does not deal with these issues very well. Too much homework for the lower grades. The parent cliques are a little much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I had a child at the school for eight years. The teachers are avg, if you want your 3rd and 4th grader to have 2-3 hrs of homework a night your in the right. There is many cliques and favortism by parents and staff. The warm christian environment they preach was not felt by our family. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Patrick Dowsett
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (810) 659-4002

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

214 East Henry Street
Flushing, MI 48433
Phone: (810) 659-2503

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Elms Elementary
Flushing, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT