Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


H.T. Smith Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
When my daughter started Kindergarten I did not care for this school, at all! It has grown on me and I am now happy. The school needs more teachers like Ms. Showerman!

H.T. Smith Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
Wow I am not alone...I too have a special needs child and this school is not at all a place he will ever return to. Come I EP time you have no voice, staff choose to do what they want and do not listen at all. If they can...they remove services...you have to fight and good luck, get yourself a good advocate from your first day at this place. Reading these other reviews it clearly seems they are violating the rights of our children. The staff is clearly either unexperienced in dealing with special needs children or they are purposely denying services to disabled children who are in need of them who are already medically diagnosed and have been receiving service for several years. I think both. Its sickening, I wonder if these woman can sleep at night knowing what they are doing to these kids.


H.T. Smith Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
This place is awful! If you have children with an iep or learning disability run as fast as you can from this place. We moved from Howell and I am thinking that was a huge mistake.

H.T. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
I know this school has gotten a few bad reviews on here but let me say this....the school is great!!! The teachers are wonderful. I have 2 children that go here and one with special needs. The teachers did work with me and my daughter to put together an IEP. By the end of the school year I did notice big improvement. The teachers really care about the kids in this school. I would defiantly recommend this school for families looking for a great school with an awesome staff, smaller student to teacher numbers and teachers that really care about kids.

H.T. Smith Elementary School 1

Posted May 04, 2012
- a community member
Do not send your child to H.S. elementary school if he or she has special needs. Misdiagnosis the first semester and Very poor handling the second semester. The "experts" have minimal knowledge of how to help, write a positive behavior plan and encourage a special needs child. Most of the "experts" are on their own little power trip. Bad situation.


H.T. Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
The staff is wonderful and they really care about their students.

H.T. Smith Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
This school is very unaware of what is going on. the teachers are not as involved with the children or the parents as they should be. children are rough with each other and no one seems to think this is a problem at all. not a school my kid will be returning to.

H.T. Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
I love that this school has a PTC that puts on events and the whole community is invited! I love the the principal is willing to dress like a Chicken to get the kids to read books. I feel that so many people at this school go above and beyond to make this such a great place to send our kids!


H.T. Smith Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
The commitment to educating every child with positive interactions is unmatched! The staff is highly qualified and extremely friendly. The Parent Teacher Club goes above and beyond to host events that create lasting memories for students and their families. There is no other school I would rather have my child attend!

H.T. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children that attend Smith, and I love the school. I volunteer 1 day a week in each of their class rooms and always feel welcome. The school is a bit out dated, however, its about education, not appearances. Mrs. Hill and Mrs. Moulton are exceptional teachers and have alot of great ideas. My daughters love going to school. The only complaint is the lunch ladies and recess ladies. They yell way to much and seem constantly overwhelmed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

H.T. Smith Elementary School
440 North Hibbard Street, Fowlerville, MI  48836
(517) 223-6005
Last modified H.T. Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-2
H.T. Smith Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top