Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richards Middle School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 875 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

Did not meet the standards by which our family was seeking, in an educational institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

I loved this school! I went here for 7th and 8th grade and the teachers were amazing! They teach you all the right stuff and help you out on what you don't understand. The principal has very strong leadership and immediately figures out whatever any problem is. The work is sometimes challenging and you do get a lot of homework! I am in high school right now, but I visit my old teachers from time to time.


Posted May 4, 2010

focused on childrens academic success...school is clean and organized...teachers are involved and committed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Love this school because of all the opportunities and great teachers. No ones perfect but its closer than you could imagine. Im a student thinking of aircraft engineering and im in advanced classes. I think its not all good because i never been to another middle school but it sounds like it beats the others. Nice students and easy to get friends, at least most of the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Many great facility improvements, good staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I am a new 7th grader at Richards Middle School. I love it there. all of the teachers are very nice and helpful. very clean nice organized respectable school. i would recommend it to anyone looking to go to a good middle school in the Fraser area!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

The principal Mr. Wood is awesome. I can't say enough about the tolerance of misbehavior. It is quick, well thought through and delt with appropiately. Keep up th great work of keeping parents connected and careing so much. Love, love, love this school. Two enthueastic thumbs up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

My son just started at Richards this year and I'm impressed! He's learning things about science, computers, English and math that amaze me. The teachers instill a passion for learning. They also keep in constant contact with parents via email or phone calls. I know my son is getting the absoulute best education in all of Macomb County in a safe, welcoming community. I also love the updates to the building -- what a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

The best school district in all of Michigan! I am very pleased with the education I recieve and hope that i will continue going there until my senior year. Go FRASER!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

The school is new and looks very nice. There are fights every day. Not verbal fights, fist fights. Some of the teachers are amazing and some of them swear at students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2005

I am a former student of Richards Middle School(2005). The quality of academic programs is fair. The sports programs to me are one of the best. I was in the track team which was the second best in our area, the coachs push you to be the best you can be. The art and music programs are also very good. The parent involvement is pretty low, my parents never really knew what was going on at the school. You do get prograss reports every week though. Most of the teachers are great and make school a fun and learning time.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

416 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

420 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

420 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
African-American 12% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jessica Carrier

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33500 Garfield Rd
Fraser, MI 48026
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 439-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Algonquin Middle School
Clinton Township, MI


Clintondale Middle School
Clinton Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT