Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arts Academy in the Woods

Charter | 9-12 & ungraded | 314 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fraser

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2013

I went on a tour of the school and I was very impressed on what they had to offer. I liked everything about the school. I think I will be sending my child there next year. If you like arts and music this is the school to go to :)


Posted April 10, 2012

This is not a school that prepares you for careers or college. There are no advanced programs, they don't talk about or prepare you with the things you need to go on to university or a career in the fine arts. I was very disappointed and didn't understand the extent of the damage of not attending a quality high school until it was too late! The principal is very inexperienced and doesn't have a developed sense of the diverse needs of children this age.They do not honor or respect parent views (even when the parent is an educator).I would NOT Recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

AAW is the top ranked school in Macomb County, according to this Free Press story. Great news! There's so much more to a school than test scores, but it's nice when the state's evaluations confirm what the community knows - this school rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

No advanced classes and very little structure. Parents recieve very little help when trying to help their students find colleges and financial aid. Security is poor and building is rather run down and a eyesore in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

I wish I knew how to correct the incorrect information on this site! AAW is not a D- school, it's a B school, the highest rating of any public school nearby. The school has made adequate yearly progress and the academics are strong. Our enrollment is up this year and the school spirit is strong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

I just finished my freshman year in college as a former AAW student I did meet alot of wonderful people in school, however I was not at all prepared for College and have to take many classes over just because I did not get the basics taught to me at AAW
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2010

What can I say, my child has done very, very well her first year at AAW. The parent involvement is awesome at this school. My daughter has really gotten her drive both artisically and academically from this school. Teachers and Admin are very accessible to parents when/if there are concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

My daughter is a junior at AAW and her experience at this school has been outstanding. The instructors work closely with their students, reaching to support their individual needs and interests. There is enough freedom for creativity to bloom and enough sturcture to brings those ideas to fruition! Louisa Spina-Liburdi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

I can't say enough great things about AAW. My daughter just completed her first year here, (sophmore), and fell right into the niche she's been looking for for so long. The diversity, the staff, and most of all so many art departments guarantee to bring out creativity and passion in every student! All students (and the staff) not only experience learning but learn experience as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Lack of honor classes, and lack of instrumental music and drama are the major areas of concern as a parent. The safety of this school is another area that needs improvement. A clear concise policy needs to be adhered and established. Nice kids at the school however they deserve more challenging academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I am a parent of a Junior who's child will attend another school next year for many concerns about AAW. The safety issue and lack of plans in place to deal with issues that have occured this year and the lack of staff and arts with instrumental and theatre gone as well as a solid guitar program in place the school lacks direction and the adminstration to support it. Academics are not stressed and a guidance support staff is not helpful nor do they return calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

This is a great school and the teachers are wonderful. More parents need to look into this school for their kids it is unique and the greatest thing is that you don't just have to show up and no kids are left behind and the mentality is not to just pass students onto the next grade and where it's not all about the funding..... Check it out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I'm going to try to be as honest and unbiased as I can in this review, but as much as I enjoyed my time spent at AAW I don't think the academics were very up to speed. I can't speak personally about all the art programs, but the 2D and 3D departments weren't very strong when I attended. It's my understanding that if you are interested in dance or guitar it's a great school, but the visual art is weak. I also feel as though there weren't enough electives and extra-curricular activities. I will say though, I can't imagine a better creative writing program and I hope in the future students can use it as a major. Also the students are generally easy to get along with and very accepting. It's guaranteed you can feel comfortable and find friends there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

I graduated from AAW in 2008, AAW was and still is an excellent school for any kid to express themselves. i have learned so much in the Arts as well as in academics. I'm now at Wayne State majoring in Psychology and minoring in Photo Journalism.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

Arts Academy is a wonderful school. The classes are fun and the teachers are great. While you succeed in academic work you also strive in a performing art - just for you! Teachers work well with one on one and are there because they love the students, not because its a job.


Posted May 19, 2009

I was a part of AAW's first graduating class back in 2005. I found my experience to be very rewarding and felt prepared to enter the big wide world of college. But AAW isn't for everyone. You will only get what you want out of the experience. No one is going to hold your hand, only you can make your self successful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2009

I'm 1 of the class of 2008 A.A.W. really gave me a boost in life that other high schools couldn't, but that's just me. I loved the time I spent there.


Posted May 18, 2009

Although Arts Academy is still in it's developing stages, the education I received at Arts Academy prepared me well for college. Individual attention from teachers helped develop me into a come confident student. Now, a Junior in college, I am entering my senior year with a 3.78 GPA, something I would have never imagined obtaining when I entered Arts Academy.


Posted May 18, 2009

I am an Alumni of this school (05) and I can honestly say it changed my life. I can't imagine being the same person I am without having attended this amazing school. It opened my eyes to diversity and acceptance. Besides that, I was able to do what I loved (ballet and acting) in a supportive enviroment. This enviroment offered a variety of performing oppurtunities including (but certainly not limited to) the Degas Art opening at the DIA and September 11th rememberance ceremonies (2002). The small classes allowed me more individual attention which enabled me to excel academically. In turn I was offered great scholarships (theatre and academic) for college. I just graduated cum laude from Adrian College with a Degree in Psychology and Theatre, and feel blessed to have attended such a great highschool. Arts Academy taught me to always strive for excellence.


Posted May 18, 2009

I was fortunate enough to be part of the first graduating class at AWW in 2005. I spent all four years of high school there and they were the best years. You could definitely see the staff and faculty were very passionate about what they taught us and the students were very passionate about their art subjects.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
16%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

85%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

59%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 69%
African-American 31% 18%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A48%
Female 270%N/A48%
Male 230%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael Mitchell
Fax number
  • (586) 294-0617

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Tennis
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32101 Caroline
Fraser, MI 48026
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 294-0391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Roseville High School
Roseville, MI





Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT