Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galesburg-Augusta High School

Public | 9-12 | 319 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

This school is AWFUL! 2009 was when I started at the high school. It was the best year I've ever experienced there. Who the principal was then, sadly moved away. If he were still here, I would rate this school a 5 star. He always interacted with the students. He was serious yet fun. He made school fun to go to. But ever since he moved, the school has gone downhill so bad. I walked in the school to visit my favorite teacher and I can't believe how dramatic that school has changed. The students are very rude to one another. They're also rude to the teachers. They are always causing trouble and getting into fights. If they're feeling down, they will bring you down with them. All they do is talk about everyone. They're so unbelievably disrespectful to everyone. This is all coming from someone who has seen this first hand. I would never recommend this school to anyone. My kids will NEVER go to this school. All the teachers have favorites; pretty much all the smart kids that are in NHS, Honors classes, AP classes. This school is a giant joke.


Posted March 3, 2012

I went to G-A schools from kindergarten through high school. I was in band, NHS, and a few other activities. I was able to participate in AP classes and went on to a private university where I graduated with honors. Growing up in a small school didn't hurt me--it helped me. I love the fact that when we graduated ('02), most of us had been in school together since elementary school. It's a safe school, the teachers are dedicated, and because it's small there is a good sense of community. I'm proud to be a G-A graduate.


Posted October 25, 2010

this school district is the best i have a special needs son who started out low in every subject but sence comming here in the 8th grade he has now been moved into regular ed classes and is pulling aband c in each class, any school that takes the time to help the students is got to be the best there is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I still go to Galesburg-Augusta and I absoulutly love it! The teachers are very good and actually care about the school. The sports are doing extremely well and I don't think that we could be doing any better. My mother, my uncles, my cousins, and my grandparnets went there and now so do I. I am doing so well and I am on the path to sucess and I know that I can thank Galesburg-Augusta High School for it. You can ask any student that is there right now and they would say the same thing.!We also have some awsome women's athletics. We work hard and our school pushes us as much as they can ! I wouldn't change it for the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

not a good school, teaching is at best a c- went there for 1 year
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I have two kids that went or are still going to Galesburg and am glad I made the choice to send my kids there I like the home like feeling of this school I do hope by the time my youngest is in high school the sports program will be alot better becouse she will be a very TALL girl, My son is a 2006 grad and is now @ KVCC and did very well at G-A
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

Galesburg-Augusta schools seem to be on the decline. I attended from first grade through my senior year of High School and looking back, the final 2 or 3 years I attended were fairly disastrous. The sports are declining for the most part and do not look bright in the future and the school board/current principle seem to be lacking in major areas. Students who played major sports such as football or basketball received special treatment by the faculty and got away with behaviors that most schools would not accept. It's a poor time to be enrolled at the Galesburg-Augusta Schools and it only appears to be getting worse. There needs to be a major overhaul from within if G-A schools look to have much success in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2006

I am not an alumnist, however my husband is, and we happily send our 3 boys through the system here. (I attended a former kva school.) I have sub-taught in the disctict noting very few problems as a sub, and currently help coach in the high school. I believe the sports teams are up & coming, including the addition of bowling and soon women's soccer. The small atmosphere of the district lends a homey feeling rather than just a fish in the pond. Allowing for lower student-teacher ratio and more extra-curricular opportunities for all students. The band is always rated #1, and the drama department is creeping up with some very talented actors/actresses. This school is also not eliminating staff due to state cuts, but could use the community to support all areas of education. Test score reports show g-a in the top 25% of kzoo county. Great small school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Galesburg Augusta Schools are gaining momentum in the qualtiy of education provided. They continue to add qualified and knowledgable teachers while retaining the exsistig great ones. Some problems are present in the accountability of lower quality teachers. Extracircular activities are slowly starting to become more respectable with the additon of better sport programs at the early middle school level. I think the toughest obstacle for the Galesburg Augusta School System is regaining trust and diginity within its own community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 31, 2004

At G-A most of the school board has been on there for years, and are probably going to be there for the next several years. Ther are four camaras, not 32 like this site says and the are not monitored. In four years the high school has had three different principles, and they go through superintendents just as fast. For all parents who are interested in having their kids play sports, don't move to Galesburg. The only good coach they have had since 91 is the wrestling coach and he retired. Over all G-A isn't that bad of a school, hell I went there for 12 years, you just have to be able to put up with the crap that goes on there. Oh yeah it's more like 99.5% white not 97.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

77%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

"90"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Multiracial 7% 2%
African-American 2% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Richard Bowers
Fax number
  • (269) 484-2011

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1076 North 37Th St
Galesburg, MI 49053
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 484-2010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Comstock High School
Kalamazoo, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT