Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Raphael School

Private | PK-8 | 188 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Garden City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $55,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

This school continues to decline, especially with the merging of St. Dunstan and St. Raphael parishes to make St. Thomas the Apostle. Both parishes are/were in considerable debt before merging. This is a sinking ship of a school. In five years, SRS has gone from 225 students down to around 125. Class sizes in the lower grades are in the single digits to teens. Principals come, work for a few years, get experience, then leave. The buildings and tiny gym are in disrepair. Teachers are compensated WAY below what other schools pay. If any Catholic schools want to stay open in this area, they have to merge and pool their resources.


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Raphael Catholic School has enthusiastic, exemplary teachers who work tirelessly to create an environment that fosters a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

I like this boy alvin in my class he's cute!!!!!!! I like this school especially our sports team is really good!


Posted July 22, 2013

Like most internet blogs, anyone can post anything whether it be true or false, critical or complimentary, just or unjust. Such is the case with the June 22 review. Contrary to what a disgruntled teacher posted, students receive the best academics and the best religious formation. The principal and staff strive to achieve their best in leadership and educational practices. They have only the best interests of the students in mind. The school facilities are constantly updated and refurbished, so the students feel safe and secure during their school day and after-school activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2013

We are very pleased with the education that our children are receiving at St. Raphael Catholic School. The principal and staff are very professional, high standard individuals. This reflects both in and outside the classroom. The environment of the school is safe, friendly and goal driven. Each child has the opportunity to attain academic success, to participate in CYO sports, and to attend supervised after school activities. I can see our children are growing in faith, knowledge and spirit daily because of Mrs. Brzezinski and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I think sending my children to St. Raphael Catholic school is definitely one of the best decisions we have made for our children's education and faith. Anyone that spends any amount of time at the school volunteering can see how hard Mrs. Brezezinski, works to make our school the best it can be for our children. There have been MANY improvements implemented into place in the last 4 years she has been our principal. She cares about our children. I appreciate her and the teachers at our school for all of the dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

As a parent at St. Raphael School I would to thank the teachers and principal for the loving caring environment they have created for my children. My children come home excited about what they have learned during the day. They have become well mannered God loving people. Thank you teachers and Mrs. Brzezinski.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

My child attends St. Raphael and we couldn't have placed her in a better school. The teachers we've had so far are wonderful. The class sizes are very good and I love that everyone knows each other. I plan on having my daughter attend all the way through the 8th grade. I will say I agree with the one comment about the principal lacking enthusiasm. It's amazing how much that position impacts an entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

As the proud principal of St. Raphael I would like to invite you to come and take a tour of our school. Our school has an incredible staff that extend themselves beyond the school day. We have many activities after school that go beyond the sports program (Art Club, Knitting Club, Service Club, Math Lab, Choir and next year Drama). Our students take on an active role in their school's improvement with the Student Council and Peer Mediators. They also run a school store and with the money they make decide how to bring more technology in the school. We have a wonderful community of families who share in the partnership of education. Come and experience the St. Raphael Difference!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 8, 2013

Our children attended St. Raphael School. Many times they called from college and urged me to share with our students that they were using information and skills that they learned while attending St. Raphael. Teachers know students from alternate grades on a first name basis. Regularly, Fr. Ray stops in classrooms to ask the children what they are learning, and how they are doing. Teachers come early and stay after the "official" day has ended to help students. We care about our students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2012

I went to this school for first grade in 2004 before I moved. I don't know if Ms. Hammer is still teaching there but she was awesome! I just didn't like the mass. It was really boring sitting there for two hours on a Wednesday morning. Also, my big buddy was awesome! Jordan Rocks!!


Posted July 14, 2010

Improvements are sorely needed in some of the academic areas for 6th - 8th grade. Administration, as well as teachers would benefit in a refresher course or in-service on basic courtesy, character building, and consistency.


Posted August 15, 2006

It was the single best thing we did to get our 5 year old daughter excited about school. Fantastic pastor in Father Scott and a fantastic school staff from the office staff to the teachers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2005

Parental Status-two kids alumni of St. Raphael, both moved on to successful academic careers, one kid remains at St. Raphael. Teachers-superb quality in lower grades, too much turnover in grades 7/8. Content-usually slightly to dramatically ahead of public schools. Academic demand on students- rigorous,again expectations and grading scales beyond local public schools, but like most private schools, does not provide much curricular flexibility especially in higher grades. Does integrate public school special needs resources to an extent. Atmosphere-safe disciplined and oriented like a functional family. My kids are/were known by staff. Little to no tolerance for acting out behavior. Spirituality-well grounded and integrated in lower grades. Fades a bit in 7/8. Technology-beginning to be established but still behind some local public schools. Sports/extracurricular- second to none. Parental involvement-second to none. It should eb noted that the school has made an effort to reduce 'fundraisers' Principal/Admin- Highly supportive pastor. Innovative new principal. Physical Plant- Only real negative- 50 year old buildings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Mrs.Sikorsik is the coolest teacher ever! friday lunch moms rock!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2004

Let me start by saying that St. Raphael had a profound impact on my life. I graduated in 2000, and from there went on to attend high school at Divine Child. I am now in my first semester at MSU studying Criminal Justice. However, i most likely would not be here today if i hadn't attended St. Raphael. St. Raphael did a wonderful job at preparing me for high school. At St. Raphael I learned all of the important skills that enabled me to thrive. I admit that when i was there, I may have found it to be a bit strict and at sometimes difficult, but it was well worth it in the long run. Also, from what i've heard, it's gotten even better in the past four years. The teachers are amazing, the moral standards are superb, and the school all-around is 100% worth the money. ~Scott
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 6, 2004

The education for this school is phenominal! what i do not agree with is the way the sports are held. I believe if a child wants to participate in a sport they should be able to do so. I believe it should be for children who's parents pay tuition to attend the school. Others, there is the city. I find it so amazing that you must meet a 'certain criteria' in someone's eyes to be able to participate in a sport. You want kids to do the right thing and be involved. If they have the ambition to take up a sport they should not have to be judged! the paying school children should all play! you make it work! so, when a child is not picked for a certain sport, he/she knows it is because they do not 'meet' your standards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

St. Rapphael School is full of nice people. My child has gotten many wonderful friends. Some of the rules may go to far but most are fair. We are losing enrollment rapidly. In the sports program everyone gets to play. It is a wonderful school. Gives you a chance for a good Catholic education. My child is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I am a seventh grader at St. Raphael School and I am very happy here. All my teachers are nice. Our pastor Fr. Scott is the best. The sports they have are great and show you teamwork. It is just a great school and you should come here to get a good Catolic education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2004

Well St.Raphael of Garden City Michigan is a great school. I am currently in the 7th grade at this school and this is an excellent school. The sports include: volleyball, football, cheerleading, basketball, and baseball/softball. The principal is new and she is the best. The teachers teach great and know what they are doing. If you might know but Father Scott (our church father) he is the greatest. He is making our school a better place than it already is. So if you would like to you should go to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
African-American 4% 19%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. De Ann Brzezinski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (734) 427-8895

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31500 Beechwood Avenue
Garden City, MI 48135
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 425-9771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Farmington 5-6 Campus
Garden City, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT