Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Grand Haven, MI
Students enrolled: 1,833

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grand Haven High School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I have had three children graduate from Grand Haven High School. All of them loved their school and their teachers. As a parent, I am thankful for the wonderful education that all three of them received. Our youngest has just finished her Master's degree. She has always loved to learn and that is because she has had wonderful teachers.

Grand Haven High School 5

Posted December 25, 2013
- a parent
A very highly supported high school and educational system by the community and parents etc and the various school rating venues notice and reflect it. GHHS is a very fine top ranking school of learning and adult development academically for college and/or the student's adult life. Also has been awarded nearly every year for being the best in "sportsmanship" in the state in their athletic programs and that also says something. The team's in the entire school district are coached as being "a Family" and that's just how the teams act from grade school thru high school. GHHS is a quite large public high school with an enrollment of between 1800 and 2000 yearly for grades 9 thru 12 on it's more than 100 acre huge campus. Yet has a very good teacher/student ratio as that's important. GHHS has a very rich history of state and national championships and honors in both academics and sports programs now and over it's close to 150 year existence. I'm also extremely proud to be a graduate of Grand Haven High School many many years ago. What a great foundation was learned there which set the tone for a very happy and productive adult life! Winning in life starts early!


Grand Haven High School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
When considering school districts, check to see how many tutoring centers ( ie. Sylvan, Kumon, etc) are located within the city/district. We recently moved from an equally high test-score district that does not compare. Here the teachers do the teaching. In our previous district, parents supplemented their child's education. Some districts are fine with mediocre teaching, because they know the parents will do whatever it takes for their child.

Grand Haven High School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a student
Looking back as a college student, I am so glad I went to Grand Haven! I'm thankful for the safe learning environment it provided, and for all the passion and wonderful teachers I had during my four years there! They helped me become a more confident person with my professors here at MSU, and I feel prepared with all my assignments. In fact, I find I'm ahead of many other freshman here, in terms of work ethic and the quality of work because of the level I was held to at Grand Haven! Go Bucs, and Go Green! -A former alum, class of 2010

Grand Haven High School 1

Posted October 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Grand Haven High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great students, teacher, administration, coaches, etc. Just like family. Save & fun. Great opportunities. Bucaneer pride!

Grand Haven High School 2

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grand Haven High School 5

Posted March 27, 2008
- a student
I absolutely love Grand Haven High school. I had to transfer schools until the rest of the year. I was very bummed out and now I miss that school more than ever. The teachers are great and the atmosphere is very welcoming. To me, no other high school measures up to Grand Haven High School.


Grand Haven High School 4

Posted February 04, 2008
- a student
Personally i think that this school is too small for the amount of students it has. However it is a fantastic school for the classes that it offers, sports, choirs, and bands. So i guess that it being a little small is just something you deal with to have great classes and great teachers.

Grand Haven High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand Haven High School
17001 Ferris Street, Grand Haven, MI  49417
(616) 850-6000
Last modified Grand Haven High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grand Haven High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top