Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West MI Academy of Environmental Science

Charter | K-12 | 599 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Grand Rapids

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $635.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 20 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I attened WMAES from 3rd Grade all the way up until I graduated. All of my siblings will graduate from WMAES. My little brother started there in kindergarten. This is theeeee bessssst school ever. The teachers are great, they never allowed us to give up. If we couldnt do something they strive to help us, giving up wasnt an option. They only want the best for us. When I was struggling with work in highschool my middle school teachers were even offering to help me on homework and help tutor me. I couldnt be more blessed to have been to such a great school. WMAES is definitely a great school all the way around. Im so happy my mom enrolled me there Thanks to all my Teachers & to the principal Mr.Morgan.


Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I have two daughters who atten WMAES; One in Pre-K, the other in first grade. I can't even explain in words how much my family loves this school. Coming from a public school I see so many differences and improvemrnts in their education. My daughters both love science, technology, Spanish, and gym class. What we like most is that the teacher incorporate outdoor activities with each subject, including math and English classes! Outdoor activies intrigue my children which makes them more excited about learning new things. I love when they come home and tell me about their day! Sometimes, I even learn fun things from them that they've learned from their teachers and other classmates. I highly recommend this school! The WMAES staff is absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

my daugther has attended WMAES since 2nd grade. I moved her here from public school. She is now in 4th grade and loves everything about this school. I decided to try this school because my daughter had so many friends attending this school from her soccer team. The parents spoke highly of the school and how the students are so connected to the environment. This school has lots of hands on learning not just reading from text books all day. The students are challenged and able to explore the world right on the acres of the school grounds. One thing that I LOVE is powerschool. Every monday if you are signed up you get weekly emails about your students performance in the classroom. Its a total break down class by class assignment by assignment so you will now if you'e student did not turn something in. If your students grades do drop they attend what is called Academic Acceleration for more study time. They strive for success and keep the parents involved. I could have not picked a better school for my daughter. I encourage you to check it out for yourself if your interested. Every school is not for every student. One this I HATE is the paring lot at 745am am 237. ;/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

I attended W.M.A.E.S from 9th-12th grade. I played varsity sports there and loved all of my teachers. They are all friendly and welcoming. The staff cares about our education and helping us grow. The outdoors is amazing and very beautiful. Overall this is one of the best schools I ever attended.


Posted February 21, 2014

This is our 4th year with WMAES and we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers and support staff are beyond AMAZING !! We are looking forward to the years to come!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This is our first year with WMAES and it has been a great one! Our daughters are blessed with phenomenal teachers who push them academically and care for them. I have witnessed their growth in so many way over the past 6 months. We appreciate the experiences for hands on learning and the unique opportunities the campus offers for outdoor learning. Can't wait to see how they grow with WMAES iin the following years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I enrolled my two children three years ago and they have greatly improved academically since their first year. This school is designed to keep kids and their families on track and engaged in the learning process. The hands-on approach is very refreshing and my kids love their teachers and look forward to going to school. So many fun and educational things to experience at WMAES!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

This schools allows children to explore science themes in the outdoors. Teachers work hard to ensure all students receive the benefits of a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

After seven years in a traditional public school setting we decided that our out of the box thinker needed more! He needed to be challenged and encouraged to apply what he is learning through daily curriculum to other parts of his life. The staff at WMAES has surpassed our expectations and we thank them all for their hard work, dedication and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

Wmaes is a great school, I have 2 kids who attend and I am amazed on how much my kids have learned not just academically. I like that they learn about the environment, I never thought my kids would snow shoe at school what a great opportunity for them. Audrey Merriman 3rd and prek mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

WMAES has created a learning environment where children can learn in a safe, structured, & creative setting. My son has improved greatly in his school work and study skills since beginning at WMAES. He also retains what he learns thanks to the hands on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

My school is perfect for ALL my kids! With a kind, accepting student body, dedicated teachers, help for the struggling student, and opportunities to excel for a gifted student this school offers everything my family needs. Best of all, my kids get to enjoy it in an Eco-diverse, beautiful, 62 acre setting! I love the uniform policy, and the strict discipline makes me feel like I'm sending my kids to a safe place. This was not the most conveniently located school we could have chosen, but it has definitely been the BEST school we could have chosen for our family! I highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

I am really impressed with all of the staff at WMAES. Everyone works together to educate our children not only in a classroom setting, but teaching real world skills that my child can use forever. If ever I have an issue or question it is handled immediately. My son loves everything about this school and his experience this far. We plan on staying a WMAES family until graduation. The ONLY negative thing I have to say is the parking lot could be bigger or have a better pick up /drop off set up. -- Amanda Kindergarten Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

I have multiple kids attending school here. It is a good school. I like the individual teachers the kids have had so far and love that they spend time outside! The elementary teachers are not great about updating the online parent portal, but they answer emails quickly. My only real problem with the school is the crazy use of summer school. My oldest was in 8th grade last year taking 9th grade classes with As and Bs, but they wanted him in summer school because his test score was low?!? In my opinion, kids that pass with As and Bs should NOT have to go to summer school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

My daughter has flourished in this learning environment. The teachers are extremely in tune with the needs of the students. I love their focus on the environment, and emphasis on positive personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I love this school. Where my child is great at a subject they challenge her even more so she's not bored. The teachers are great with parent teacher communication. When they have a concern I'm contacted and we work together to find a solution. I love how they teacher about gardening and other outdoor activities even in the winter there is snow shoeing. Most importantly they stick with their rules. They will not put up with kids disrespecting others. Karen kiss (Mother of a first grader)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

This school is fantastic! The teachers are amazing, and they all really honestly care about the students. The teacher/parent communication has been great! This is my sons second year there, and my family has been very happy! Beth Brace- kindergarten mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I have been a parent at this school for six years and have experienced all three levels of education here (elementary, middle and high school) as well as special education provisions. My students have been thoroughly supported (they even initiated the special ed assessment for one of my children) in their academic learning. The after-school tutoring (with teachers, required any time a child is struggling with a topic and reassessed every two weeks) and small classes were key to my autistic child outgrowing her need for special ed. She's now a successful college freshman. My elementary-aged child is THRIVING after being held back a grade; I appreciate that they didn't just pass him along like so many other schools would. We love the environmental, hands-on, kids-outside, one-size-does-NOT-fit-all approach this school has. Communication was initially a struggle and family activities were lacking, but HUGE strides have been made in these areas. Parental involvement opportunities exist, but too few parents take advantage of them; it's making some progress and will only continue to improve. I highly recommend this school! (J. Gilman - 1st grade & alumnus parent)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

The teachers at this school are great. My daughter can be a bit of a handful at times and her teacher makes sure I am involved in knowing when she acts out, how she solves the problem and how my daughter reacts to that. I find this helpful. I like to know what goes on, which her teacher always informs me. Not just about the negatives either. I also love the family nights. My daughter gets so happy to show me her school and friends. The activities are always fun too. Jenna Engberg Mom of Saelyn Engberg (pre-k)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

I'm love WMAES! My friends are jealous of everything I get to do at school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
8%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

89%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

"68"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 69%
Hispanic 32% 6%
African-American 5% 18%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Morgan
Fax number
  • (616) 791-7453

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4463 Leonard St Nw
Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 791-7454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Zinser Elementary School
Grand Rapids, MI






Shawmut Hills School
Grand Rapids, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT