Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Excel Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 757 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

If you have a "normal" child, this is a okay school to send them to. If your child has any special needs, look for a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Our child was in Kindergarten and he is in 8 grade now. We love this school because the teachers all work well and show caring with their students. They are serious in their academic teaching. The principal at this Excel school has a great admiration from the parents and students as well. We love Excel and the staff members! Highly recommend this school to friends and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

This is a great school if your child can learn in a very generic at your desk all day reading textbook style. One of my sons does great, my other son has struggled with the curriculum and no other learning options are provided. If you want a school that will adapt to your child's needs this is not the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

Amazing...a true treasure to parents who want private school education but can't afford it! This school is beyond all expectations. The teachers are involved and engaged . The principal is a true leader. The diversity is just what I was looking for. It models the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

This school has the best staff, leadership, and curriculum. The kids come home happy everyday and want to go back! Many special programs the make this school stand out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Can't say enough about this school... Great leadership, awesome teachers, excellent staff, office, special teachers. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

My son is in the 8th grade now, and has been at Excel since kindergarten. We have absolutely loved this school from beginning to end, especially the moral focus aspect of the curriculum. I feel he is well prepared for high school and for life. The academics have been great, but mostly I feel that Excel has helped shape his character. I have found the staff to be very open to parental input. The community is very welcoming, too. We have a terrific group of families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My kid go to this school and we all love it. The teachers provide a great teacher/students relationship to make kids enjoy coming to their class. Weekly Agenda let parents/students know what is teaching in the week and teachers will follow up with parents if their sent home notes or student's online posted grade/missed assigments is unresponding back. School always promotes safety place to our children, teacher will be on the playground , at the gate and any concerning to our kids at school will be address at monthly parents/principal meeting and the principal/staff members will follow up. I like to recommend this school to our parents in Grand Rapids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

We were exceptionally pleased with the elementary school, and we sent our kids there for their entire K-5 career. The middle school at Excel is their weak link: the staff treat the students poorly, with little to no respect. The academics did not prepare my oldest child for high school. The moral focus program is not followed by the teachers in the middle school, most especially the 6th grade teachers. It is a tragic truth that everyone knows, but is powerless to change. I would recommend the elementary school highly, and would highly recommend to get your children out of there for middle school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

Excel teachers are wonderful and the staff and students are really nice. Their knowledge of special needs and services could use improvement. Great school for those typical children that are high achievers. Those needing help or needing services, could use improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

I go to excel charter and i believe it is big bonus for the academics and prepares you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

Excel is a fantastic school for all students. The commitment to excellence in education inside and outside the classroom is outstanding. The support provided for students with special academic needs is superior. I have experienced this first hand and I am exceedingly pleased with the challenge provided for my child to exceed his own expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

excel has a good acedemic program. it is very good. there should be more sports available.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2006

We are overall pleased with the environment and quality of the staff. The student popluation is a socio-economic mix of kids - which we like. The only shortcoming is that we feel our children are not challenged to achieve their best; a gifted program would suppliment Excel's core capabilities nicely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

The school is great. The only thing that would make it better would be a before and or after school program for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

All three of our children have attended Excel over the past 9 years. The teachers are exceptional and compassionate about their jobs! My children have always loved school and have done well academically. They are challenged and loved! It's wonderful to have a choice in our children's education! I encourage anyone to check out the school for themselves! They will be very pleased with what they see!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We've had three Children in this school, and could not be more pleased. Two of our children were there on the day it opened. We've watched it grow from a small academy to a 'large' (650+) elementry / middle school. The staff are the best, and there is no tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 69%
African-American 18% 18%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Asian 7% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 144%N/A48%
Female 252%N/A48%
Male 248%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State of Michigan Summit Award (MAPSA)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dan Bartels
Fax number
  • (616) 281-6707

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Are expected to volunteer in some way -- very active pto as well
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Grand Rapids Public Schools (65%)
Kentwood Public Schools (30%)

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
N/A
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 Breton Road Southeast
Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 281-9339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bowen Elementary
Grand Rapids, MI


Lighthouse Academy
Grand Rapids, MI


Challenger Elementary
Grand Rapids, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT