Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vista Charter Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
I'd like to say thanks for nothing to the dean and the principle of the school. For not helping my child feel safe at school. His attendance there was one of the worst experience we have ever had.

Vista Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
They seem to be babysitters. The child do what they want in the class. Yell, fight, ect. Its a mess.


Vista Charter Academy 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a community member
My son went to school and was bullied by the students in his class since the third day there. The school has a very poor attitude when it comes to discipline and follow up to keep the moral up and violence down. I would not recommend sending your child to this school.

Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
My son went to this school for a few weeks he is in kindergarten and he came home with a packet of homework once a week and had to be done by Friday morning we would spend almost an hour a night doing homework. Then he started making comments about a teacher and I talked to the principal nothing changed so then I decided to pull him out. I went up there to get his epipen because he has a food allergy and it took the school an half hour to try to find it. They asked if we wanted it mailed I said no so we waited till they found it. It was the worst experience and I am glad I moved him into another district.

Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted July 22, 2015
- a community member
Although the teachers are dedicated, they are undermined by subpar administration. Discipline is not consistent and students run the school because they know there are no real consequences other than getting a day off here and there, which the kids enjoy and do not view as a punishment. Overall there is apathy for grades and learning. The entire day is just a social time for the middle school.


Vista Charter Academy 4

Posted April 02, 2015
- a community member
I have volunteered often at Vista and found an enthusiastic staff, and well behaved students. I love the uniforms. I also love that they have a Dean Model, which places leaders in each hallway to help teachers to grow students at whatever level they are at. They make a BIG deal out of reading, and rewarding success. I think the best part, (obviously besides the focus on academics) is the Moral Focus curriculum. Teaching kids honesty, integrity, respect, gratitude and such seems to be missing in so many schools these days.!

Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a community member
Vista Charter Academy has high expectations to ensure that students are on the pathway to college and success! With a diverse population, caring teachers, and administration that expects nothing but the best, Vista is a school that should be the first choice for parents in the area who want a high quality education for their children!

Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a teacher
Unfortunately this past school year was quite a fiasco with an assembly line of sub-par administrators marched in and out of the doors. The current administration continues to be less than competent which has resulted in a multitude of instructional staff members considering employment with schools and districts elsewhere. It's no wonder why, with the disrespectful manner in which staff are treated on a daily basis. Hmmm...Amazing that a new "be nice" initiative is going to be introduced next year when clearly the principal and only remaining dean from the previous year, have no idea how to even "be civil". Dear N.H.A., Perhaps if you spent more time analyzing the approval ratings of your building administrators (currently Vista's is the LOWEST of all N.H.A. school's at 6%), rather than collecting millions of dollars in rent for your shabby buildings (see the M-Live Detroit Free Press article) then maybe you would see that the students need teachers that are focused on their education, not on watching their backs! Teacher rating: 5 stars Student rating: 5 stars Parent rating: 5 stars Administration: 0 stars Something just doesn't add up here!


Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
There is nothing special about this school. Due to moving and location we sent our children, but pulled them within months to attend an area local public school. They market they have the best academics, but I found this not to be true; they are merely attempting to re-inventing the wheel. There were some wonderful teachers at Vista Charter Academy, but for the most part everything else is sub-par. Not only does the building smell bad when you walk in, but so do my child's classroom - probably due to the old carpet. In addition, it is difficult to have trust & faith in a school when there is so much staff turn-over. This is a tell-tale sign the school does not have it together from the top down. Unfortunately this is probably due mostly to leadership decisions.

Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a community member
Vista Charter Academy is the best school i ever went to i went ther starting in 1st grade and that is a hard step trying to make new friends but really quickly they help me get friends i just want to thank: Mrs.Hutt,Mrs.Maza,Mr.Yager,Mr.Groogle,Mrs.Hillary. those were all my home room teachers. also Mrs.Blair you rock!

Nearby schools

Vista Charter Academy
711 32nd Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI  49548
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (616) 246-6920
Last modified Vista Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top