Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a teacher
Unfortunately this past school year was quite a fiasco with an assembly line of sub-par administrators marched in and out of the doors. The current administration continues to be less than competent which has resulted in a multitude of instructional staff members considering employment with schools and districts elsewhere. It's no wonder why, with the disrespectful manner in which staff are treated on a daily basis. Hmmm...Amazing that a new "be nice" initiative is going to be introduced next year when clearly the principal and only remaining dean from the previous year, have no idea how to even "be civil". Dear N.H.A., Perhaps if you spent more time analyzing the approval ratings of your building administrators (currently Vista's is the LOWEST of all N.H.A. school's at 6%), rather than collecting millions of dollars in rent for your shabby buildings (see the M-Live Detroit Free Press article) then maybe you would see that the students need teachers that are focused on their education, not on watching their backs! Teacher rating: 5 stars Student rating: 5 stars Parent rating: 5 stars Administration: 0 stars Something just doesn't add up here!

Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
There is nothing special about this school. Due to moving and location we sent our children, but pulled them within months to attend an area local public school. They market they have the best academics, but I found this not to be true; they are merely attempting to re-inventing the wheel. There were some wonderful teachers at Vista Charter Academy, but for the most part everything else is sub-par. Not only does the building smell bad when you walk in, but so do my child's classroom - probably due to the old carpet. In addition, it is difficult to have trust & faith in a school when there is so much staff turn-over. This is a tell-tale sign the school does not have it together from the top down. Unfortunately this is probably due mostly to leadership decisions.


Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
I have 3 kids that are at vista and we LOVE it. They truly strive for excellence and achieve their mission statement. They celebrate their wonderful diverse community and come along side every student to see them succeed academically.

Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted April 02, 2012
- a community member
Vista Charter Academy is one of the best schools I have ever worked with. From the caring staff, to the delightful students, to the college preparatory curriculum, the whole Vista family works together to educate the students academically and morally! I have worked with over 10 other charter schools, and hands down the folks at Vista are the best!

Vista Charter Academy 1

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
The Worst school ever The criculuim is way to hard!!! the Food is gross The Classrooms stink but the teachers are nice.


Vista Charter Academy 4

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
We appreciate the moral focus and the advanced curriculumn taught in the charter school system. Vista has proven to be a great schooling environment. We are impressed with the friendliness of the staff and all the hard work they put into helping our child be the best she can be every day.

Vista Charter Academy 4

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
I think Vista is one of the best schools in the Grand Rapids area. They have excellent academic programs and caring teachers and staff.

Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
This school is diverse. A true model for America. The moral focus component is a much needed step toward teaching our children how to succeed in our changing world. My daughter is challenged in her classes and the teacher make every effort to work with my husband and I in bring the objectives taught in class into our familiy.


Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Vista Charter Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
My son has been attending Vista for 3 years and he loves it. They engage the parents a lot which I think is crucial for a well rounded education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Charter Academy
711 32nd Street Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI  49548
(616) 246-6920
Last modified Vista Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Charter Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top