Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Grand Rapids, MI
Students enrolled: 1,089
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northern High School 5

Posted March 14, 2015
- a parent
I have two students in the Spanish Immersion Program at the HS. They love school and the SI Program. They both are involved in choir and one does musicals and the other enjoys cheer. They will be going to NYC with the drama club this summer. It is a fairly middle class to upper class area with a strong focus on academics and college prep. There is a little more diversity than other schools in the district, I think. Good peer groups, no violence. Some typical teen issues.

Northern High School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
From the amazing staff and administrators to the caring teachers who take the time to get to know their students and actually use differentiation to allow the students to learn individually, Northern is a great place to be raising bright and capable kids.


Northern High School 1

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
the academics are fine, but there is a lot of open prejudice and unfunny racist jokes made to the face of Asian and Indian kids. the kids would never do this to African American students, but they think it is particularly funny toward Asians. The teachers do nothing and it goes on in front of them. My kid is really suffering, and we are leaving the school.

Northern High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a student
Northern has an awesome tennis program and some great teachers! Anybody would be very lucky to come here because we are so welcoming to all.
1 person found this helpful

Northern High School 5

Posted March 04, 2009
- a student
amazing school. all of the faculty are great and really help you with everything


Northern High School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a student
This is awesome! all teachers care about students, and they are also fun : ) The most important thing is.. they teach well~ and the equipment is well prepared for students to use~ Also.. kids are good!

Northern High School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student
I go here and it's sweet. The teachers are immaculate. The janitors are super duper. The principal is the best. Go Huskies!!!

Northern High School
no rating

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
This school gives kids the opportunity that you would never guess a school would give to your child. They have a selection of great after school activities and things that will definitely keep your kid happy and busy. Some of the teachers aren't the best but overall most are great. The teachers and staff members know how to settle a problem most of the time and they are just great. I highly recommend people to submit their kid into a Forest Hills School and it will answer all your problems with your kids education.


Northern High School 5

Posted January 16, 2008
- a community member
I did my student teaching at Northern high. I truly believe that you will not find a better school in the area. They have a great staff who is very caring and helpful. The principal is a great guy. The students are all very nice and respectful of each other and of adults. the only problem with northern are there sports, the aren't good at them. If you want your child to have a quality education and sports is not that big of a deal then definately send your kids to FHN.

Northern High School 5

Posted August 04, 2007
- a student
FHN is a well rounded school with programs for any interest a student may have. There's a variety of competitive varsity sports teams, with a Track, Swimming, and Tennis team that especially excel. And if a sport is not offered at Northern then often the student can play it at one of the other Forest Hills schools. The theatre program is known throughout West Michigan to be one of the best with shows selling out the gorgeous Fine Arts Center. Academically Northern's students score high on standardize tests. There is a wide variety of AP programs available as well as Co Op and work experience opportunities. Also Northern works with dual enrollment. The diversity of FHN isn't as amazing as other schools, but it has the greatest diversity of the three Forest Hills Schools. Overall Northern is a great school for any student to excel in their area of interest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northern High School
3801 Leonard Street Northeast, Grand Rapids, MI  49525
(616) 493-8600
Last modified Northern High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northern High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top