Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walker Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 764 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Grand Rapids

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This school places the bar high for academics, morals and extra curricular activities. There's musical, fine art and athletic opportunities for students of all abilities. The teachers excel with providing structure and focus on each individual's academic needs. The principal and deans are quick to communicate and handle any issues- especially bullying. The school is college focused and finds innovative ways to motivate the students. The parents are very involved and communicate via various parent led facebook groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

My various grandkids have done well over the last 15 years. One reason I wasn't happy with their attending this charter school is because of its total lack of diversity. There are few minority kids, none with obvious handicaps, and they're not set up for special ed. In the real world they will live in this is not helpful to the social side of their education. The kids love/loved Walker Charter and I think they have done well after transferring on to high school.


Posted March 3, 2014

This is a publicly funded school with the mindset of a private school. There is a sense of entitlement among long-established families at this school, who think they own the place. And their children act like they own the place...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

We have had our daughter attending Walker Charter now for her second year. She completed Young Fives at Walker, (excellent program and teacher!) and now is in Kindergarten. She loves her teachers! I, personally, have seen how much the administration and staff go out of their way to see that your children are learning, growing and adjusting! I feel like they really care about my child! She has learned so much, and grown so much in the past two years, that it is impossible not to say that Walker has exceeded my expectations in every area. I think my daughter is being challenged to grow, but not so much that she's overwhelmed. I am really happy with our choice of Walker Charter! They have great teachers and administration! Any concern you have, I think the communication between teachers and staff is terrific and timely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

My family has attended Walker for a long time now and they always complain about how they want to switch. They tell me about how the school lunch stinks. They think that the teachers are unfair to students, like choosing favorites. And they also talk to me about how they are constantly being bullied. Boys and girls can't even talk to each other without being frowned upon by the teachers. They would get in trouble just for hugging one another. The school makes some changes that most of the students, parents and even teachers don't like. For example the new grading system.


Posted March 4, 2013

My son has attended WCA since kindegarten; he is currently in 6th grade. I have been highly impressed by the challenging curriculum, the communication between school staff and parents, and the availability of teachers to answer questions from students and parents, whether it be via email or in person. Discipline at the school is strong; rules and expectations are very clear. Most of the parents who have issue with the school or with the principal change their kids school every year because they think their child's behavior problems are the fault of the school, or they do not realize how bad their child's behavior truly is. I am especially thankful for the school's focus, from kindegarten, on college preparation. WCA also does not neglect the arts, when many schools and districts seem to be cutting back on the arts. Walker Charter Academy is a shinning jewel in Kent County and West Michigan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Our child attends WCA and it is a wonderful school. Our child loves going to school and enjoys learning, we believe that is because of the great attitudes of the entire staff at WCA. The teachers are awesome, the office staff is amazing, and the principals are the icing on the cake. What other school has their principals directing traffic & greeting their students before & after school? Ours does & we think that makes a huge difference. We are very thankful for WCA...go Wildcats!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

My children attend WCA and it is a GREAT school. We transferred from another school district to WCA this year and I have nothing but good things to say. Most of the teachers are great, the administration is wonderful, and the kids in the school are nice and very well behaved. I don't know many middle schools that can boast that! Way to go Walker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Our oldest is in kindergarten at Walker charter school, and we've had an awesome experience so far! We'll be sending our other children there, when the time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Both of my children attend WCA. It is by far the best elementary school in the area! We would know, we have tried at least five different GRPS schools while waiting to get in to WCA. The best that tests more often and keeps parents in the loop. If your looking for your child to succeed beyond 8th grade and on to college, get on WCA waitlist, now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

Incredible!! We have been at WCA for 6 years; the staff continues to impress. The teachers are amazing and dedicated to their students and the school!!! The PTO is so involved, love all the options. This school has such a community feel to it, none better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

I love this school. My child loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

This school is fabulous! We absolutely love it. We are able to volunteer, see huge growth, and have great communitcation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

I am very pleased with Walker Charter Academy. My son started in 5th grade and has graduated and is doing excellent work as a Freshman in high school. My daughter started in 3rd grade and is presently in 5th. I appreciate the moral focus each month. All of the teachers that we've had have been wonderful. The teacher involvement is spectacular, they give so much of their extra time and effort toward their classroom. The admistrators are top notch and take every positive or negative concern seriously. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

My daughter transferred to Walker Charter Academy in fifth grade. She is now in the sixth grade and is flourishing. The students are challenged by the course content and receive any support they may need to be successful. The faculty and administration are supportive of both students and parents. The environment is structured to allow all children to feel secure and expand their learning opportunities. The many extra activities available to the students also encourage them to become active participants in their school community. We are very happy to have our daughter at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My daughter has gone to Walker since kindergarten, she is now in the 6th grade. I would have her attend no where else. The teachers & staff are GREAT & she has loved each & everyone of them she has had. Public schools cannot provide such a wonderful atmosphere in which to learn in. My daughter amazes me each & every year with what she has learned. Far superior to the GRPS which I attended . Do your child and yourself a favor & check out this fantastic school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I chose this school for an alternative to public school and it was very mediocre. If you don't expect much out of your child and are looking for a school that does the same, this is the one for you. Creativity and expression of any kind is frowned upon. The principles make decisions based on what a few conservative parents want, whether it makes sense or not. The middle schoolers are treated like children and not the pre-teens that they are, due to the fact that they are lumped together with elementary kids. Even the choir programs they made them do were highly embarrassing for 6-8th graders and most of them expressed that to each other. GVSU should invest in a seperate building for the middle school. I'm glad my son is not returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

My children have been going to Walker for three years now and I love it!!! This school really cares for the children, they go the extra mile to help them even if they have to stay after school. The homework can be alot at times but it will be well worth it when they go to high school, they will be more prepared than the public school students (in my opinion). They have Moral Focus Assemblies year round to teach the children about responsibility,wisdom,respect,courage etc...They also are preparing my children for college even now in 3rd and 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

The Kids are the FOCUS. Every question you ask the answer always comes back to being about the kids. The moral focus, the care and great attention the Administration and the staff give are SUPERB! Not to mention MEAP Scores that are in the 90% percentile. Our children attended a private school before attending Walker. After their first academic assessment we were shocked at how far behind our kids were. Walker jumped in to action got them the help they needed and now they are exceeding expectations. GO WILDCATS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I can't say enough good about Walker Charter Academy. From the Principal to the Assistant principal to the teachers. The entire staff is the best I have ever known. They really care about my children and their future. Every month they introduce a new moral focus and the best thing is they not only teach it but live it. I have 2 children that attend now and 2 that have graduated. My 2 daughters who have graduated are now excelling not only in High School and College but in life. Thank you Walker Charter and National Heritage Academy for doing such a great job. Do I think Walker Charter is for all kids? Well only if you want your kids to be succesful. So Yes I do. Erik Harvey
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
Hispanic 9% 6%
African-American 4% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 139%N/A48%
Female 250%N/A48%
Male 250%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steve Bagley
Fax number
  • (616) 785-0894

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 3 Mile Rd Nw
Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 785-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Harrison Elementary
Grand Rapids, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT