Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
I have found with many schools it's becoming more and more about warehousing kids. At Walker I feel they invest in not only the education but who the child grows to be.

Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Our child attends WCA and it is a wonderful school. Our child loves going to school and enjoys learning, we believe that is because of the great attitudes of the entire staff at WCA. The teachers are awesome, the office staff is amazing, and the principals are the icing on the cake. What other school has their principals directing traffic & greeting their students before & after school? Ours does & we think that makes a huge difference. We are very thankful for WCA...go Wildcats!!


Walker Charter Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Walker Charter Academy has an amazing office staff. They are the glue that holds our school together. They do so much, we probably don't even know half of it. Thank you for all you do to make our school run smoothly, safely and successfully.

Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great moral focus without imposing religion -- and they're wonderful at recognizing achievement and challenging my daughter. I love being able to work in the classroom. Headed back for our third year... can't wait!

Walker Charter Academy 1

Posted April 17, 2015
- a community member
WALKER CHARTER ACADEMY allows BULLYING, my niece has been bullied for over a year, due to this she has to switch schools. She has hed teeth broken by another little girl and the school did NOT do anything about it. Instead the principle and teachers allowed the bullying to continue. My sister talked to the school staff many times and nobody did anything about it. WALKER CHARTER ACADEMY is not a safe place for kids, my.niece had two concussions and a broken tooth, they did nut do anything about it...


Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
We could not be happier with Walker Charter. It has been a true blessing for our family.

Walker Charter Academy 4

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Walker is a great environment for school! I love the teaching staff, so eager to help children learn. The administrative staff is first rate, friendly and helpful and easy-going.

Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
We switched to Walker Charter beginning the 2014 school year with one child going into third grade and one going into Y5's. Wow what a difference! My third grader is finally being challenged academically and loves school after a very frustrating second grade experience elsewhere. My Y5's is having a wonderful year with an unbelievable teacher! All of the staff and teachers have been great during our transition. We cant say enough good things about our experience so far!!


Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
We switched our children from a local catholic school about a year and a half ago. My husband and I were looking for a school to support our dyslexic student that had a strong moral focus and rigorous academics. We have been so pleased with Walker Charter for all of these reasons. The teachers are amazing and take a real interest in our children. The principal is readily available to chat if you have any concerns, which is wonderful. Our children really enjoy school, which was not the case prior to coming to Walker Charter. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.

Walker Charter Academy 5

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
This school places the bar high for academics, morals and extra curricular activities. There's musical, fine art and athletic opportunities for students of all abilities. The teachers excel with providing structure and focus on each individual's academic needs. The principal and deans are quick to communicate and handle any issues- especially bullying. The school is college focused and finds innovative ways to motivate the students. The parents are very involved and communicate via various parent led facebook groups.

Nearby schools

Walker Charter Academy
1801 3 Mile Road Northwest, Grand Rapids, MI  49544
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (616) 785-2700
Last modified Walker Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top