Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 386 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Others should know this was the best middle school that i have ever went to. They have great school dances great students wonderful teachers. What I always liked was how heartwarming and welcoming Riverside was and how much the art teacher there taught me so much, and now i love to paint all the time always creative doodling everywhere i go i wish i could go back. What they can do to improve is have a celebration for the students each time the hit a high score just a little peace offering and appreciation


Posted April 10, 2013

representing my school. its not bad and its not the best but its a school, a normal school . there are some troubled kids but that doesn't stop us from learning alot. we have great teachers and great students. its a great place for people to come. if your child doesnt have alot of friends and you live in the area , i promise your child will have friends here.


Posted March 24, 2012

Great staff. The school has many good programs to support academic success including LOOP, P.A.S.S., PBIS (incentive program), tutoring, etc. Staff are friendly and courteous and are very helpful to students and with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2011

Riverside is not a bad school it's some of the kids that attend Riverside that make it hard for the other kids to learn. My daughter is a honor roll student and has been since the two years she has attended Riverside. If parents took out more time with their kids I think every kid would succeed and make good decisions. But it starts at home we have to teach our kids to show respect for everyone. It's not the teachers responsibility to teach our kids respect. The teachers are there to teach the kids what is needed in life to get to the next point of their lives. Parents need to take time out go to the school and see how their kids are progressing in school. Like I said my daughter is a honor roll student. Riverside is what you and your kids make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

There are too many fights and other issues at Riverside. I don't know how kids can learn anything. It is like a dumping ground for troubled kids. Most of the kids are bussed in and a big share of the neighborhood kids do school of choice and go to Knapp Charter or Northview. The child I care for wants out of the school, but we can't get transportation for him. The kid is stuck in a bad school where he is scared of the stuff going on.


Posted July 26, 2009

There are a number of troubled students at this school. Although the teachers are great and try to control what is going on, there are a number of studets who choose to fight, disrupt, not cooperate in any way of form to what is necessary to learn. Unless these students change or are driven from this school the other students will continue to suffer


Posted June 16, 2009

Although there are alot of fights at Riverside it is a great school. You will learn so much there. The teachers are fun and the students are great! There are alot of fun field trips like tube sledding, skating, whitecaps. A;so, you have alot of fun dances. I have attended Riverside for 2 years. I hope I still can attend on the last year of midde school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

This is the best school with the best students. I've attended Riverside for 2 years and i hope to attend this school for my last middle school year. How could this school be rated a 2 out of 10... this school is more like a 10 out of 10!!! I say this truthfully.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2004

Riverside is making progress in the math and reading areas. They are working under pressures from the No child left behind as are all of the Grand Rapids Public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
1%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 42% 18%
Hispanic 24% 6%
White 21% 69%
Multiracial 11% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Donna Boman
Fax number
  • (616) 819-2981

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

265 Eleanor St Ne
Grand Rapids, MI 49505
Phone: (616) 819-2969

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Center for Economicology
Grand Rapids, MI


City High Middle School
Grand Rapids, MI



St. Alphonsus Pre-School
Grand Rapids, MI


Sts. Peter & Paul School
Grand Rapids, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT