Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Grand Rapids, MI
Students enrolled: 676
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Catholic Central High School 2

Posted May 23, 2010
- a student
(continued from above)-- Finally, in case you didn't know, the school is basically broke, and will have to fire several teachers and cut many programs, so don't listen to their pitch about the academic opportunites there, because they're not going to be around long. All CC talks about these days is tradition, but that's only because a 105 year history is all it has.. it has nothing going for it in the present, and the future looks even bleaker. I would honestly recommend attending somewhere else.

Catholic Central High School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a community member
Best education in West Michigan-- the science and math programs are second to none in the area, and programs such as the Engineering Class and Independent Research Program give motivated students a leg up both in college admissions and their futures. The school consistently ranks highly, if not at the top, in average ACT scores among area high schools, and students have succeeded at the national level in science and engineering competitions. ... the other departments are good, too.


Catholic Central High School 3

Posted December 26, 2009
- a student
Catholic Central is a great academic school that prepares you well for the academics that are to come in college. However, the student body is made up of 'clicks' and it is very tough to be accepted by the 'popular' students. If you are not one of them high school can be hard to have fun in. The athletics are VERY good, but they are so good that its hard to find playing time even if you are good at a certain sport.

Catholic Central High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Excellent academics, a faith-filled atmosphere, caring and compassionate teachers, staff and students, Catholic Central is an outstanding high school where 95+percent of students go on to higher education. In addition, there are many wonderful programs for students who struggle academically. The many extra-curricular offerings round out the exemplary student life here. ....and the girls' uniforms are very cute. The students look and are awesome.

Catholic Central High School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a student
This school is honestly amazing. Sure, it has its flaws. But its the best education of any school in west michigan, by far.


Catholic Central High School 0
no rating

Posted January 28, 2009
- a student
Catholic Central is a very good school, but it si too uniform, and I`m not talking about the uniforms.I have been going there for three years, and I feel like I am in the army. The adcedemics are good, and I feel well prepared for college. But I also feel like we are sheltered. Once college comes, its going to be a BIG wake up call and we won`t know how to handle certain situatuions.Like I said, adcedemics wise, very well prepared, socially wise... Not so sure.Overall good school, but I think they need to be a little less uptight

Catholic Central High School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Catholic Central High School 5

Posted January 12, 2008
- a community member
Catholic Central is definately the best Catholic school in the area.


Catholic Central High School 4

Posted August 20, 2007
- a student
the uniforms...not so great. but otherwise, its great. good schooling and ok people

Catholic Central High School 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
This school deserves 6 stars. The teachers at CC sincerely care about their students. My daughter was struggling in some of her classes, her teachers volunteered to come in early and stay late to help her. She used her breaks and sometimes her lunch to speak with her teachers. The teachers and I kept a dialogue on how she was doing and what was needed to help her to be sucessful. Believe me my family feel the sacrafice we make to send our daughter to CC. It is money well spent, I have no doubt she will excell in college. If anyone of color is skeptical about sending their child to CC, don't worry they will be in good hands. Parents try and get your child involved in a sport or club or one of many community events that CC is involved in, they will have fun. Active Parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catholic Central High School
319 Sheldon Boulevard Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI  49503
(616) 233-5801
Last modified Catholic Central High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Catholic Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top