Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul The Apostle School

Private | K-8 | 213 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Grand Rapids

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2012

I love how the parents and grandparents come together to help out the students and the school. The administration, teachers and support staff together with the parents make this school something special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

The teachers are driven to help their students succeed and they will do anything to help the kids!


Posted March 18, 2010

St Paul's is a very welcoming, caring, faith filled school. The teachers and staff are great and really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

5 Stars. Our 3rd Grade daughter loves her school. She has grown in Knowledge, Faith and Community. The community of St. Paul The Apostle is a loving and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

We enrolled our students at St. Paul last year after touring several other Catholic School in Kent County. We chose St. Paul because the moment you walk in the door, you feel welcomed! The small school community embraces all new families. We had hesitation about moving our eldest, who is in the 5th grade, because of how settled he was in his previous school. Despite these reservations, we have never seen our children happier in school and both are excelling academically. St. Paul is truly a college prep k-8 institution and the fact that the standardized scores exceed the diocese average is just one measure of this. From the families to the staff, to the administration, this school rates an A+ and we could not be happier!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

You get the whole nine yards with a school like St. Paul the Apostle. From their Haiti food and clothing drives to their academic excellence, you feel like you are involved in every aspect of helping the students achieve for the greater good. They not only are some of the brightest students you will meet, but they also care for the world around them. Our family has 3 students at St. Paul the Apostle School and since we joined 5 years ago, we have had a feeling of belonging to a community that cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

SPA is a wonderful school. The teachers are great, the environment is safe, my kids love going to school and love learning here. The kindergarten program is excellent. There are two excellent teachers who share the week. The kids benefit from having two completely different, qualified teachers. Several options also, k-all day everyday being one. Mom and Dad and kids couldn't be happier here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

The close sense of community; family involvement


Posted May 17, 2009

Otstanding School! We have had 3 children attend PS - 8, and highly recomend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I have been thrilled with the entire package at St. Paul the Apostle School. There is great interaction between the children in different grades; and my child has thrived in the small, caring environment. The teachers are experienced, and the environment is clean, safe and conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

St. Paul the Apostle is a top notch school with excellent teachers, academics, sports and arts in a christian learning environment. There are many opportunities for parent involvement and the school community is very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

St. Paul the Apostle School offers an incredible, faith-based education in a safe, community-oriented environment. Check out what their parents feel about the school at www.stpaul-school.org/index.php/about/what_our_families_say
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 71%
Asian 2% N/A
Multiracial 1% N/A
African-American 0% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lori Salva
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (616) 949-0836

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Grand Rapids
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Burton Street Southeast
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone: (616) 949-1690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lake Michigan Academy
Grand Rapids, MI


Breton Downs School
Grand Rapids, MI



Lakeside School
Grand Rapids, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT