Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit School

Private | K-8 | 31 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Grand Rapids

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2013

We cannot say enough great things about this school. The teachers and staff teach in a very loving manner. Outstanding curriculum ! Highly involved parents who care about all students as their own. I just love it ! Priceless education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

i have three boys at Holy Spirit and they LOVE going to school. They have a very balanced cirriculam between adacemics and spirituality. I love their Young Five's program too! All positive experiences for all three boys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My children went there and they received a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

We love Holy Spirit. The teachers are excellent and really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

We have three children, one graduated and two are still at Holy Spirit. We came to this school because our local public school was a complete let down. No academics, tests, book reports etc. Holy Spirit addresses all areas of academics, social skills and has excellent teachers and staff. The challenge is there and when it comes to sports, everyone plays! We just love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

This is a terrific school. Our daughter went here for her 4th and 5th grades after being in a fairly good public school. Her learning was at least a grade level above what was being taught at that public school. Caring teachers..Good discipline..High parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Holy Spirit Catholic School in Grand Rapids, Michigan is outstanding. I first moved to this area in June 2004 and my son started attending a different Catholic School and in November 2005 we did a mid-semester transfer to Holy Spirit and he has again started to flourish and love education again. The staff and teachers are very kind, fun, and experienced. The Curriculum is very appropriate for his age group and challenging. The extra's they do with the children, the lunch program is very good, and my sone just enjoys going to school. I would recommend this school to anyone new/old in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Pat Kalahar
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (616) 453-0018

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Grand Rapids
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2222 Lake Michigan Drive Northwest
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone: (616) 453-2772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shawmut Hills School
Grand Rapids, MI






Sibley School
Grand Rapids, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT