Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-12
Private
Grand Rapids, MI
Students enrolled: 40
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a teacher
a place where kids who struggle with learning challenges can enjoy success, be supported, be cherished and valued, and realize they are all gifted in their own ways.

Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
We are so happy that there are people who understand Learning Differences. It's made a big difference in my daughter self-esteem. Thanks LMA


Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Lake Michigan Academy was a lifesaver for us. As the only 1st through 12th grade school in West Michigan devoted solely to kids with learning disabilites, it puts your child on the path to success through low student to teacher ratios, teaching styles customized for your child's unique learning style, and a compassionate environment that fosters your child's personal growth, rebuilds their self-esteem and shows them how to show others they way they learn best.

Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We have had our 15 year old son in LMA for less than one year. We cannot say enough about the willingness and support of the entire staff. They truly teach with our son's needs and learning style at the forefront. He has had limited success in several previous schools from an early age. He is now consistently doing A and B level work and his teachers like him and he likes being successful in school. WIN! WIN! Looking foreward to more of the same next year.

Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Best school for our 15 year old son. He has struggled with school for so long we didn't have much hope for success. We have had him in LMA for less than one year and have witnessed a complete successful turn around. Excited for his future as he now gets A's and B's!


Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
LMA is a great school. They've done so much to help our son overcome his learning disabilities. He real enjoys the school!

Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
My son went there for 2 years and the experience was excellent. He is severely dyslexic and while the local public school tried, they just weren't able to work effectively with him. LMA was the place.

Lake Michigan Academy
no rating

Posted February 08, 2009
- a parent
I would strongly recommend this school to anyone that has a child with a LD. I am saying this from experince i went to this school and graduated from it. I loved that it was smaller classes and that i was only girl senior.LOL but any way i leaned more and remembered it. in the first two weeks than i did in two weeks in a public school. This school ROCKS!!!!!!


Lake Michigan Academy
no rating

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter showed significant improvement within the first semester. She is learning, versus just having someone else partner with her and doing the work. This is one of the best kept secrets in West Michigan. If you have a child with a learning disability I would strongly recommend you look at Lake MIchigan Academy.

Lake Michigan Academy 5

Posted March 23, 2006
- a parent
For children with Learning Diabilities (which is all this school covers), this school is a fantastic place. Our son went here after being emotionally destroyed by the public school system. They don't have a large staff, but have very small classes so they can individualize the attention. They rely on the student's public schools for extracirricular activies. If the public school has tested your child and said they don't have an LD, but you are still suspicious, I would recommend an independent test by a place like Human Resource Associates. The public school has no incentive to detect LD's, it just means more work/trouble for them. The principal is new since our son attendend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Michigan Academy
2428 Burton St SE, Grand Rapids, MI  49546
(616) 464-3330
Last modified Lake Michigan Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Lake Michigan Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top