Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Our school is best known for our Reggio Emilia inspired approach. The mission of the GRCDC is to continuously expand the potential of children, the experiences of educators and the involvement of parents within the diverse community of Grand Rapids, MI. The vision is to base all decisions on the principles of Reggio-Emilia incorporating current research on learning as well as developmentally appropriate practice. It is a wonderful community & place -- we think you'll love it here!
January 24, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Our school is best known for our Reggio Emilia inspired approach. The mission of the GRCDC is to continuously expand the potential of children, the experiences of educators and the involvement of parents within the diverse community of Grand Rapids, MI. The vision is to base all decisions on the principles of Reggio-Emilia incorporating current research on learning as well as developmentally appropriate practice. It is a wonderful community & place -- we think you'll love it here!
Posted January 24, 2015

Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
My son has attended this school since he was a toddler, as they have an infant/toddler and preschool program. He is entering the fourth grade this fall, and LOVES going to school here. They utilize the Reggio Emilia approach, which is far more engaging for the children than traditional education. If your child requires a ton of structure, it may not be for you, but most kids will thrive in this environment. Check it out, as it is unlike any other in Grand Rapids. Most of the teachers here are exceptional!


Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
The teacher's are sufficient but the school lacks quality leadership. While the school promotes diversity, the administration is unable to understand the varied cultural differences. My child made social progress but failed miserably on the MEAP. Prior to attending this school his MEAP scores were great but his social skills were lacking. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center 5

Posted May 25, 2008
- a parent
This school is amazing! The philosophy at this school encourages children to be explorers, to collaborate with classmates, and to become their own problem solvers. My son is highly motivated to go to school everyday. He is learning about different environments (ocean, desert, urban, etc.) communication techniques, keeping a journal (which he writes in everyday). And he's only in kindergarten! Most importantly he is becoming more confident in himself. I have seen him blossom in ways I wasn't expecting. I could go on and on. I am very happy with the Child Discovery Center.

Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center 5

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
Our family loves this school! The teachers are amazing, the unique Reggio Emilia approach to learning is condusive to the real world and my children just love Stripes the cat. There is so much to love about this school - for a complete list of the Discovery Center philosophy and guiding principles go to their website today.


Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center 4

Posted March 19, 2007
- a parent
I really like the hands approach at this school. My daughter loves school, and that means so much to me, as I was a drop out. She has so much fun, and learns real life concepts, as well as the 'book' work. It is a very diversified school. For the number of students, and the approach to education, I think the staff does very well. Whenever I have a concern, no matter how big or small, it is ALWAYS handled immediately. A very family oriented school. Every teacher seems to know every student, and every student seems to know every teacher, by name. I really appreciate how they try to help my child grow into a wonderful woman she will all too soon become.

Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center 5

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
I have had a very positive experience with the Child Discovery Center. The Reggio Emilia curriculum is an ideal way for the young child to be introduced to the educational field in that it fosters a sincere desire to learn in the child. I like how Art is incorporated into the daily curriculum instead of as a once a week class and I also appreciate the Spanish Language component of the school. Diversity is more then just a nebulous concept to our family. My husband and I truly want our children to experience diversity in a city that is somewhat racially stratified. The Discovery Center has helped us meet this goal in a positive and meaningful way. The staff at this school has been wonderful and supportive from the top down. Our family is very happy to be a part of this school family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center
409 Lafayette Avenue Southeast, Grand Rapids, MI  49503
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (616) 459-0330
Last modified Grand Rapids Child Discovery Center is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top