Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gerald R. Ford Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2010

How can our cildren learn with any books? The teachers dont seem to care and the parents aren't involved enough. G.R Ford needs serious help, it seems like the kids are worse there than they were before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

I think GERALD R. FORD is the best school I have ever been to. They have a lot of diffrent things and activities there. Even though all the fights that we go through this still is a good school. All of the teachers the principle's and admenistators and even the security guards are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2009

in my opinion,Gerald r ford is a great school. yes there is a bunch of fights but that is not important. the important thing is the learning. the teachers are great! and you learn alot from them. im going to the 7th grade now.(im a student at ford middle ) and in my high school years i will thank gerald r ford for helping me through my middle school years:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

This school is great. we have good teachers, advocates, and a great principle-Cory Baldwin 8th Grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

This school is horrible. Most of the students are more concerned about fighting, than learning. Teachers have to stop a lot to correct behaviors so kids who want to learn don't learn as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

I think that gerald r. ford middle school is a very good school to go to, beacuse i have attened that school for 2 years since it's been built and i belive that the teachers there a very good rolemodel for us students for teaching us to become a good and honest adul when we grow up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

I like my school and it's very challenging and aslo very nice of our princpal and and wonderful teachers I am a smart 7th grade because of this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2006

I am a parent of a student who attended Madison Middle and am here to honestly say that this school needs sincere help. I am troubled about many things at this school. In my opinion there are some staff who really truly care about the school and it's students, but it just isn't enough. There were issues that the board of education should have focused more on, like not enough food, not enough books.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
1%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
1%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
1%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 78% 18%
Hispanic 12% 6%
White 5% 69%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stephanie Davis
Fax number
  • (616) 819-2660

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

851 Madison Ave SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49507
Phone: (616) 819-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT