Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grand River Prep School

Charter | 9-12 | 611 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

This school is sure to keep students on track. Although the work does get pretty stressful from time to time, I am confident that it will all pay of in the end and will get me college ready. The teachers are great and are always there to help and understand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2014

Constant bullying, teachers don't realize anything. Hallways are so crowded, in those 5 minutes nobody has the time to even go to the bathroom. All the kids wearing the exact same things, no creativity allowed. If you're even a second late for a class you get detention. The staff at the school care more about dress codes than anything else. A lot of the teachers really don't know how to teach, all the good teachers are gone. This school used to be great. The kids here are so stressed out from their homework, there is absolutely no school spirit at all. You get suspended from not finishing your homework, SUSPENDED. Is that really necessary? If you want your kids to have a good high school experience and be excited for college, this is not the place. It sucks all the fun and spirit out of the students, and turns them into working zombies. Not everybody's book smart, but they are all basically forced to be at this school. There is 15 minutes of lunch, 5 minutes between classes, absolutely no time to socialize at all. To be prepared for life, there needs to be more things at this school other than strict rules and tons of work. Want to have good high school memories? Not the place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2014

This school, as other reviews reflect, has gone downhill over the years. Very little consistency in faculty from year to year, due to better opportunities (and higher pay) elsewhere has led to a lack of experienced teachers. The rules are at times oppressive, classes are overcrowded (as are the hallways), and school spirit is virtually non-existent. Grand River only garners a ranking of two stars for academic rigor, which is consistent with its college preparatory mission. However, BE WARNED: while many AP classes are offered, starting next school year many will only be available online, an experience I personally DO NOT recommend. The school also deserves kudos for providing a laptop for every student, as well as tutoring services twice a week free of charge. Overall, better than the traditional Grand Rapids Public Schools, but worse than many other school districts/ private schools. (P.S. I'm a Junior who's been here all 3 of my high school years.)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2014

I've been a student here for four years. At first it was enjoyable. There were actually about 16 students per teacher, but they began to intake so many during the years here that they were not ready for. In the beginning they had awesome teachers. Not only were they really good at teaching, but they were young and professional. Like many reviews here say, they left. Out of the original teachers here, there are maybe 5% left. The good about the school...honestly I can't even think of one thing. It has all gone over the years. At GRP, one tardy=detention, a missing assignment=suspension, there are very harsh uniform laws (yeah not rules, LAWS), the lunches we had in kindergarten are the same we get here, hallways are often full, musty, hazy, polluted, and nasty smelling, we only get 5 minutes between classes, which would be alright, but the halls are so full that it's hard, homework is overbearing, there are few sports programs, limited bathroom passes, some teachers are scared of students, and it is turning into a prison. Don't get me wrong. We have some wonderful teachers but not as many, and the good ones always leave for better jobs. Don't attend. You'll regret it. Everyone does.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2014

When i started school here i was happy, but over these past 7 months of school, i've noticed that a lot of the staff could care less about our education. The school cares more about the uniform than helping the students. Maybe if we had a little more freedom with what we wear, they'd focus more on teaching us valuable things. Some of the teachers do care about the students, but some really don't. And noticing that a lot of kids here are depressed can be explained too; people are getting bullied all the time, the teachers don't notice it anyways. I wouldn't advise sending your kid here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2014

This school pays off, all you need is a your orange jump suit, and a backpack. And you are prepared for college and all it throws at you. Plus, the homework here makes the homework during college years so easy. Great school, good teachers, and alright students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2014

I was exicted to come to Grand River Prep this summer and now I'm exicted to leave.This school does everything it can to make it seem perfect but it's not it's far from it. If you wanna get a real honest opinion listen to someone that walks the halls everyday.I see stress in my peers faces every morning,probably from the hours of homework and studying they did the night before. There is no school spirit and I've only been here five months but i've never heard a single student say they are proud to be here. I'm only in 9th grade but this school is taking a toll on my high school expirence. There's so many harsh rules. I don't mind rules but some are pretty harsh. This school is turning into a Ottawa Hills or Union. That's a nice way of putting it. Some of the teachers are nice but they aren't necessarily teaching to the best of their ability. I've noticed that alot of teachers have only taught at GRP less than 2 years. Teachers are starting to find better jobs.Overall I don't advise you to come here. I'm regretting it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2014

This is my first year in highschool. This summer I begged my mom to come to Grand River Prep. Now I beg her to let me switch.This school seems like a perfect school on the outside but you sometimes gotta ask someone that walks the halls everyday. It's not perfect it's far from it. There's so much stress in students faces from the hours of studying and homework they did the night before. There are some very nice teachers but most don't really teach to the best of their abilitys.Most of the staff have only been here for maybe two or three years at the most there are tons of brand new staff workers this year because the old ones are finding better places. Some students are very nice but most are not. It's becoming more like a Ottawa Hills or Union. There are very harsh rules, I don't mind the rules but some are just unfair and very harsh. Kids are making out in the halls. It's gross. The grading system is different they base it on test grades so if you fail a few tests in a subject you basically fail the class.People are down when they come to school in the morning. There's no school spirt.I've only been here 5 months but I've never heard anyone once say GRP is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2014

From the reviews, you can see this school is getting worse over the years. This is my first year here and before I went to this school I was excited to start high school here. My opinion changed the first week, a large majority of the students at Grand River don't care about their education. Most of the staff seem scared of the kids and act as if they don't see the many problems. The teachers however do care about you're education, but they don't teach in a way that keeps us focused. I understand that the staff wants us to learn as much as we can in a school day, but all we do is learn. All the "fun" happens after school. We have a 5 minute break between each class, which doesn't sound like a problem but when the hallways are filled with too many students, it isn't easy at all. The lunch is 15 minutes, and during lunch you are not allowed to throw your trash away until they dismiss you, but you are allowed to yell across the cafeteria. The dress code is supposed to save you money, but with all the rules, it is very hard to find clothes that are in dress code and that are inexpensive. If you are thinking of sending your kid here, make sure to do a little research before doing so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2014

This school is a disgrace. Honestly when it first opened it was a very good enviroment and place to do your studies, but throughout the years it has fallin. I have been a student for 3 years and i have watched the school fall. The school cares more about the dress code then the education of the student. I have personaly saw children making out in class, people getting bullied left and right. The teachers all though a few are accepted are horrible teachers. I have been given multiple classes with bad teachers throughout my 3 years here. and i have suffered the consiquences of failing that grade. My education means everything to me and this school ha failed to give it to me. Thankfully i am not going to be here for my senoir year. Also to add to this, this information given on this page is incorrect I have never been in a class room that had less then 25 kids. This school fails to teach the student how to be prepared for college. If this school was to imotate the affection they had for education in the first years of this school, then this school would be amazingly educational. But now i advise all of the parents that decide to send their children here don't. Thank you
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2014

When our son was at GRPHS for 9th grade, he had excellent teachers who were very supportive and great role-models for him. He also has had 3 FIRST-YEAR teachers whose inexperience affected his success in their classes...For quite awhile I have been very concerned for the morale of the students, because of some of the onerous rules which I believe were developed because of a small % of students who need a heavy hand...and the well-behaved kids are thus punished by that. It is possible to be encouraging and supportive without being unreasonable. When kids are Seniors they should be treated more as adults than 9th graders...my student tells me how DOWN his classmates are and I'm pretty concerned for them...plus, they are good kids, and deserve more freedom & encouragement to succeed as they are heading into college years. Sometimes it feels as though the staff is not interested in the kids succeeding for THE KIDS' SAKE...only enforcing the rules they've been trained to enforce. I am not very happy with this school for these reasons, and it probably goes way up to the owners/administrative people who don't even do day-to-day contact with students at Grand River.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

Any review dated before 2013 is completely unreliable. When Grand River Preparatory first began, it was an amazing school, from the faculty, to the education, to the students attending; over the years it went downhill. There is nothing good to say about this school any more; the workload is heavy, they care more about the dress code and being tardy more than anything else. The rules are absurd, the lunch is disgusting, there's absolutely no school spirit, the word "fun" and "Grand River" should never be put in the same sentence unless the words "is not" is inbetween. This is my senior year and I wish I would've transferred a long time ago because going to this school has made my overall high school career unmemorable and just terrible. I would not recommend this school to anyone for any reason, you're better going off to City High, or East Kentwood. This school is terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2013

This school provides virtually no school spirit, rules that become progressively more oppressive as the years go by, and in general at most times is a miserable place to be. The only aspect that deserves a star is the teachers, some are quite kind and willing to help students, however this bright side is dying out fast due to teachers finding better positions at other schools and taking the opportunity. I highly recommend you do not send your child here, the academics provided are nowhere near stellar enough to sacrifice your students enjoyment of their high school years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2013

I honestly don't know if I have anything good to say about this school... The information on this website about the school is mostly incorrect. I have only ever had one class of 12 students or less, most being at least over 20. This school does nothing to prepare students for what college is really like and most kids who graduate from Grand River will struggle with adapting to college life if they haven't had their own experiences outside of school. To be honest, even though most people say the classes are more difficult than other high schools in the area, it all depends on what classes you pick. Grand River just forces you to take the hard classes. There also is no such thing as school spirit here. The students really don't care what's happening at the school, nor will they care because of the background they come from. This really causes the school to suffer. (Also, the lunches are the exact same thing that the elementary schools get, complete with 2nd grade serving sizes and the nutritional value of a block of cement...) In addition, the screening process for teachers must be horrible because many of the students have had to suffer from awful teachers in the past.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2013

This school is not as perfect as everyone says. There are kids getting bullied left in right. At the school i go to we stick up for each other because we are a family. P.S I go to Allendale High School


Posted May 28, 2013

I have posted multiple reviews for this school, and they have been taken down. So have others. This is ridiculous and unacceptable. If anyone wants to send their children hear, or anyone wants to go here. They should know exactly what the students and parents think of this school. The fact that adequate reviews are being given and deleted just because they are negative is not okay. People deserve to know the truth about schools. It is a very small school, most everyone knows everyone. I cannot stress enough the fact of all the hate. There is so much hate and bullying against students who are simply different than most others. Some of the teachers are nice, but most do not care or make an effort to help individual students. If you have any experience with this school in the past year, you know about how ridiculous the rules are. Twenty years ago, what do you get suspended or expelled for? Bringing guns to school. Here, what do you get expelled for? Not doing your homework. If you are just seconds tardy, you will have a tardy and a detention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I love the faculty at this school, and everyone that goes here that then goes to college says that college is much easier than Grand River. If that does not say something about the difficulty, I don't know what does. Many students are very stressed here, but I have made many friends and I love my class because we all knit ourselves together in mutual dislike for all the rules. In all, it's a great school. Just be prepared for work and many rules.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2012

I was a student at Grand River for two years before we moved out of state, and I miss it every day! The teachers and all the staff there are truly dedicated to the well-being of their students. The teachers all really love teaching and love their subjects, so it is not just about good test scores, and the classes are interesting. The challenging classwork pushed me to achieve more than I ever thought possible, and although it was hard at times, the teachers were always there to help me however possible. Even though I left after just two years, Grand River definitely helped prepare me for college and grow me as a person. At Grand River, your teachers and schoolmates really become like family. Not to mention I got to go on a trip to Costa Rica with my AP Biology class. ;) You should definitely send your child to this school; they may complain at first (I cried when I was about to go here), but it will be worth it (I cried when I left, too).
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2010

This school has been amazing for my child. The personalized attention that she gets from her teachers is amazing. Althought the college prep curriculum is harder then a normal public school, I'm confident that they are preparing her for success in college. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This school is such a wonderful example of what a great charter school can be! Thanks to this school, I have no doubts that my son will not only go to college, but will finish high school with college credits already under his belt!! The small atmosphere and the energetic, enthusiastic and inspiring group of teachers will make your student want to attend school each and every day. This school really is a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female25%
Male61%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial42%
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male75%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students39%
Female21%
Male61%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracial42%
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female51%
Male77%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students70%
Female61%
Male80%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

90%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

69%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 69%
African-American 27% 18%
Hispanic 25% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/A48%
Female 257%N/A48%
Male 243%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jason Bannister
Fax number
  • (616) 261-1853

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 52nd St SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 261-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kelloggsville High School
Grand Rapids, MI


Rocket Learning Lab
Grand Rapids, MI



East Kentwood High School
Grand Rapids, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT