Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Grand Rapids, MI
Students enrolled: 611
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grand River Preparatory High School 3

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
This school is great. Honestly just needs some major improvements and more options/choices to provide the students to do.

Grand River Preparatory High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
Some teachers need to work on their teaching skills honestly. Some teachers are very good but others are horrible.


Grand River Preparatory High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
It depends on the classes you take. But for the classes i'm taking, i don't get enough.

Grand River Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
They don't care. Some do but others seem to not show compassion towards the students

Grand River Preparatory High School 4

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
We have been absolutely delighted by our experience here at Grand River Prep. We have two students at the school who both enjoy the extracurricular activities and are thriving in the academic environment. The teachers are the real heroes of the bunch-- they care about our kids and encourage them to give their very best.


Grand River Preparatory High School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
So disappointed... I had heard such great things about GR Prep that I made sure my son attended one of the local charter schools for middle school to make sure he would be able to get in. It was nothing but smoke and mirrors!!! I was told low class sizes, college visits, encouragement and prep for college process, open communication with parents and respect for students. Unfortunately, in two years I have been so disappointed - I so regret sending my son to this school!! He could have had a much better experience at another school. Don't let the fancy name fool you - it is not what you think!!

Grand River Preparatory High School 4

Posted July 24, 2014
- a student
This school is sure to keep students on track. Although the work does get pretty stressful from time to time, I am confident that it will all pay of in the end and will get me college ready. The teachers are great and are always there to help and understand.

Grand River Preparatory High School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a student
Constant bullying, teachers don't realize anything. Hallways are so crowded, in those 5 minutes nobody has the time to even go to the bathroom. All the kids wearing the exact same things, no creativity allowed. If you're even a second late for a class you get detention. The staff at the school care more about dress codes than anything else. A lot of the teachers really don't know how to teach, all the good teachers are gone. This school used to be great. The kids here are so stressed out from their homework, there is absolutely no school spirit at all. You get suspended from not finishing your homework, SUSPENDED. Is that really necessary? If you want your kids to have a good high school experience and be excited for college, this is not the place. It sucks all the fun and spirit out of the students, and turns them into working zombies. Not everybody's book smart, but they are all basically forced to be at this school. There is 15 minutes of lunch, 5 minutes between classes, absolutely no time to socialize at all. To be prepared for life, there needs to be more things at this school other than strict rules and tons of work. Want to have good high school memories? Not the place.


Grand River Preparatory High School 2

Posted June 07, 2014
- a student
This school, as other reviews reflect, has gone downhill over the years. Very little consistency in faculty from year to year, due to better opportunities (and higher pay) elsewhere has led to a lack of experienced teachers. The rules are at times oppressive, classes are overcrowded (as are the hallways), and school spirit is virtually non-existent. Grand River only garners a ranking of two stars for academic rigor, which is consistent with its college preparatory mission. However, BE WARNED: while many AP classes are offered, starting next school year many will only be available online, an experience I personally DO NOT recommend. The school also deserves kudos for providing a laptop for every student, as well as tutoring services twice a week free of charge. Overall, better than the traditional Grand Rapids Public Schools, but worse than many other school districts/ private schools. (P.S. I'm a Junior who's been here all 3 of my high school years.)

Grand River Preparatory High School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a student
I've been a student here for four years. At first it was enjoyable. There were actually about 16 students per teacher, but they began to intake so many during the years here that they were not ready for. In the beginning they had awesome teachers. Not only were they really good at teaching, but they were young and professional. Like many reviews here say, they left. Out of the original teachers here, there are maybe 5% left. The good about the school...honestly I can't even think of one thing. It has all gone over the years. At GRP, one tardy=detention, a missing assignment=suspension, there are very harsh uniform laws (yeah not rules, LAWS), the lunches we had in kindergarten are the same we get here, hallways are often full, musty, hazy, polluted, and nasty smelling, we only get 5 minutes between classes, which would be alright, but the halls are so full that it's hard, homework is overbearing, there are few sports programs, limited bathroom passes, some teachers are scared of students, and it is turning into a prison. Don't get me wrong. We have some wonderful teachers but not as many, and the good ones always leave for better jobs. Don't attend. You'll regret it. Everyone does.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand River Preparatory High School
650 52nd St SE, Grand Rapids, MI  49548
(616) 261-1800
Last modified Grand River Preparatory High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grand River Preparatory High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top