Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grand River Preparatory High School 1

Posted November 06, 2015
- a student
I don't want to go to college. You have to wear a uniform that's REALLY restrictive, the computers don't even have Microsoft Office, and so much more. A requirement for graduation is to be accepted to two colleges, and how our society works is that you're expected to go to college. You can't get out of that, and the classes they offer aren't good anyway. You have to take certain classes, even if you don't want to use that class in your job. If I could switch schools, I would.

Grand River Preparatory High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 06, 2015
- a student
My friends who've been supportive and understanding. They understand the problems at this school just as much as I do.


Grand River Preparatory High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 06, 2015
- a student
I feel stressed out, and I have after school activities, so the homework interferes with that. I feel like I'm going to be behind all year, and I'm a very disorganized person

Grand River Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a student
You hear swearing in the halls, even though there's a rule in place that's supposed to suspend a student when they swear.

Grand River Preparatory High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 14, 2015
- a student
They lose at least 7 teachers a year by next year they will have a whole new staff.


Grand River Preparatory High School 5

Posted September 12, 2015
- a student
Grand River Prep is a school I will recommend to anyone who will listen. The teachers care about student success and students care about each other. GRP promotes a strong culture and a healthy academic career and I've been very happy with my experience.

Grand River Preparatory High School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a student
I have been at Grand River Prep for all four years and I don't regret a single minute of it. Our school has wonderful teachers who are passionate about helping their students become successful. They live up to the name as a college prep high school, as the courses are rigorous and prepare you for the next level of education. The school offers numerous extracurricular activities from athletics to Monday electives that help students become apart of the GRP community. I am so glad that I got the chance to go to a school where I have teachers who truly care about my success, over 20 AP classes available to explore my interests, and many activities to meet students with the same interests and goals as me. For students who have college in their plan, Grand River Prep is the place to be.

Grand River Preparatory High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 06, 2015
- a student
The teachers are wonderful and passionate about their students' success. They strengthen our school community


Grand River Preparatory High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 06, 2015
- a student
The classes are rigorous, so they do have homework, but it is nothing that a student cannot handle

Grand River Preparatory High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a student
As a college preparatory school, the staff is determined to get students the best education they can get to prepare them for college.

Nearby schools

Grand River Preparatory High School
650 52nd St SE, Grand Rapids, MI  49548
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (616) 261-1800
Last modified Grand River Preparatory High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top