Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Grandville, MI
Students enrolled: 533
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grandville Century Park Learning Center 3

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Century Park Learning Center is a non-traditional school in terms of classroom structure. The multi-age classrooms are heavily dependent upon the expertise that is required of the teachers who are assigned this challenging role. As parents of a child who needs additional help in math, we did not witness an ability by most the teachers to individualize the learning experience of their students. I feel this school is best suited for those who are gifted in the core classes. It makes sense why the other Grandville schools and other districts haven't adopted the multi-age theory. On a positive note the staff is fun and involved in the social activities with our kiddos.

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Century Park is a top notch school. The teachers and staff truly care about our children. The students here benefit from a well planned curriculum, as well as the added special programs (science, art, physical education, music) that are being cut from many schools. My children have had the opportunity to take numerous educational field trips over the years and they have participated in many school supported programs that benefit our community. I highly recommend this school and I am so thankful that my children have the opportunity to have such an A+ learning environment.


Grandville Century Park Learning Center 4

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Century Park for 7 years starting in the daycare program Treehouse. As our oldest graduates to move onto the middle school I feel so blessed for the great educational foundation she received at Century Park. The final day included a few tears because of the great relationships, support and opportunities she experienced at CPLC from the amazing teachers and administration at the school. As her teacher told her on her last day don't be sad that its over; be happy that it happened. I am.

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
We have been a parents at Century Park for 7 years and have many more years to come. We love this school and 100% support their anti-bullying policy. The staff and principal are quick to respond and communicate well with the parents. We do have choices to attend other elementary schools, but we choose Century Park because of its continued commitment to our childrens' education and overall support of their well being.

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
We have three children who currently attend Century Park. Next fall, our family will be entering our 7th year at CPLC and we continue to be impressed with the education and experiences our children are enjoying. The staff is involved and supportive on many levels and it helps to build a well-rounded learning environment. Parent and family participation is also encouraged and helps to further a positive social and educational experience. We are very grateful for the opportunity to participate at Century Park. Many thanks for all that you do for our kids and community!


Grandville Century Park Learning Center 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
We have had all three of our children attend Century Park since the day it opened. We have lived in many places in this country, but the staff in this school are truly dedicated to ALL children. The building was built on the premise that ALL children can be successful, and the staff completely embraces that tenet. The multiage philosophy and extended learning opportunities are just one example of how staff focus on the unique needs of their learners. I recommend this school often.

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 1

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
Some of the teachers are decent. Several are not. Bullying based on clothes kids wear, financial status, etc is rampant in this school but the administration does nothing to stop it. Teachers do not give extra help to students in need. Yet they give preferential treatment to students whose parents contribute financially to the school. Explain to me how students are able to miss 15 consecutive school days for a family vacation. Upon their return they are not required to make up the work they missed and it has no impact on their grades. Yet some students who have missed less time for legitimate medical reasons have their files turned over to the truant officer and are not allowed to make up the work. We brushed off our 1st child's complaints as the usual whining about school. But when our 2nd and 3rd child had the same complaints we looked into it. Discussions with other parents whose kids had the same problems opened our eyes. There is a demarcation line and it is drawn between the "Haves" and the "Have Nots". If you are a "Have" then your child will likely do well. If you are a "Have Not" you had better be aware of the issues facing your child.

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 3

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
Too bad the kids like to bully each other alot and some of the teachers and the Principal do not do much about it. Sure, they have "Be Nice" t-shirts and talk about bullying but the playground supervisors and some of the teachers shrug some kids off as just complaining again, mine included. And the Transportation dept never pays attention to what is going on on the bus. My kid shouldn't get bullied on the bus, at the bus stop or at school.


Grandville Century Park Learning Center 5

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
We have done a great deal of research on area schools and districts and are still thrilled with our choice to send our children to Century Park. All children have opportunities to expand their horizons and actively participate in field trips, community events, extracurriculars and unique learning experiences. The staff and administrators are engaged in creating a positive learning experience for the children and communicate with parents often. We strongly feel our teachers go above and beyond and it shows. The level of involvement and support from the parent community is also top-notch. BIG thumbs up for CPLC!

Grandville Century Park Learning Center 1

Posted September 24, 2011
- a parent
This school was a terrible experience for my child. The parents were very annoyed that my child was culturally different, and pressured the principal to persecute and my child in many ways. The sad thing is that she agreed! The children at this school believe that they are better than anyone of another color or background. Many children have been removed from this school for this reason, including mine. My advice: Don't send your child there!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grandville Century Park Learning Center
5710 Kenowa Avenue Southwest, Grandville, MI  49418
(616) 254-6821
Last modified Grandville Century Park Learning Center is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grandville Century Park Learning Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top