Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grosse Pointe South High School 1

Posted July 30, 2015
- a student
Ive gone through the G.P. school system and my kids went from happy, great teachers{k-5} to semi unhappy teachers/students begin picking favorites {6-8} to completely miserable, preppy,unsocial, paid off school{9-12} and dropped out half way through Senior yr cause they couldnt stand the ppl there...they just care about everything else but school work! They need to add an etiquette class to properly train some of these ppl !

Grosse Pointe South High School 1

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
GPS quite possibly the worst school we have ever had to enroll our children in. As a military family we move a lot and have lived in very diverse communities. There is absolutely nothing diverse about this school. Unless you consider a bunch of stuck up preppy teenagers with too much money diverse. We have not found one student or group of students to welcome our children into this school. My kids hate it here and we will be moving asap! Parents.. Teach your kids how to be welcoming to new students, students with less money and so forth. Most of all, teach your kids to be kind, caring and compassionate. Something a lot of students at south lack.


Grosse Pointe South High School 1

Posted February 10, 2015
- a community member
Snobby kids and education doesn't match up as advertised. Teachers ok but kids are not that great

Grosse Pointe South High School 4

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Diversity, I am not a fan of it, Diversity, does nothing but destroy a school!! If this diversity gets any worse I will be moving farther north!!

Grosse Pointe South High School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
Fabulous school. Offers many avenues to develop talents and succeed in learning. The Class of 2014 had the highest number of cum laude students in the school's history. South had two students, of Michigan's possible 5, go to the US Naval Academy. They offer exceptional club and team activities. The choir is nationally known, sports and the Arts are strong, as are activities such as FIRST Robotics. There are many volunteer opportunities to help others less fortunate, such as Reading Buddies and general tutoring. Many students go beyond this and volunteer in surrounding neighborhoods in Detroit. All in all, the school is a model of individual and team achievement.


Grosse Pointe South High School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a student
South is an amazing school the best school in michigan and the teachers are just amazing im taking solid AP courses and im still finding myself having a ton of fun GO BLUE DEVILS

Grosse Pointe South High School 5

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
The standards are high and the opportunities are amazing. Course options and activities rival offerings at a small liberal arts college, and the teachers are helpful and supportive. More diverse and welcoming--economically and ethically--than some are claiming. Regardless, all students are expected to work hard in order to earn their grades--it's no diploma mill.

Grosse Pointe South High School 4

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
Most teachers are very involved with their students and parent support is amazing. Many opportunities for extracurricular activities.


Grosse Pointe South High School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student from GPS. I am saddened by the Still 'Bubble' and by the lack of 'Diversity' at GPS. It challenged me academically and the extracurricular activities are great. To the students in 'The Bubble' pop it! See how amazing other people can be! To the other students that feel the lack of 'Diversity' you're already ahead of the game! To all of you, keep your heads up! It really is an honor to Graduate from Grosse Pointe South High School.

Grosse Pointe South High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Nice spirited place - kids excel in all areas.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grosse Pointe South High School
11 Grosse Pointe Boulevard, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI  48236
(313) 432-3500
Last modified Grosse Pointe South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grosse Pointe South High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top