Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grosse Pointe Academy

Private | K-8 | 300 students

We are best known for academic excellence.

 
 

Living in Grosse Pointe...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2013

I am a parent of two children at the GPA and very pleased with the education and experiences they have received to date. I am also thrilled with the advancement of the school in recent months due to the leadership of Lars Kuelling (new head of school) and excited with the vision, strategy and actions outlined for the upcoming school year. GPA is tracking to be best in class of 21st Century Learning . Yesterday evening, I had a neighbor approach me complimenting me on my daughter and how articulate, mature, and socially aware she is. This was a very kind remark from a couple I talk to only in passing walking our dogs. I highlight this comment because they are both former educators (high school principals from the surrounding area) and both worked with children for years. Yes, I was very pleased as a parent to receive this comment, but I also know GPA has played a major role in my daughter s development and creation of the talented and gracious individual she has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

My children have been at the Grosse Pointe Academy for the past 10 years, and we have another 5 to go...It is the best school in the area. The teachers and the academic studies provided are second to none, and the new Head of School has been a terrific addition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

We have been parents if two children at GPA for the past nine years, beginning in the Early School with the strong Montessori beginning. They were given confidence, values and strong education throughout the ES experience. The lower and intermediate school has built on that strong foundation, challenging them in academics, art and growing their confidence at each step. The teachers and administrators know and understand the individual nuances of both of my children's unique personalities and learning styles. We have watched them grow as they have faced challenges, formed lasting friendships and developed life long character lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

This is my fifth year attending this school and I have been very displeased with my experience. The academics are great and they push the students to be active by having physical education four out of five days of the week and requiring each student to participate in at least one after school sport with the school. However, when bullying and harassment occur the staff does absolutely nothing until they are scolded multiple times by an angry parent looking out for their child. They focus too much on money instead of each child's mental well being. The more mature students end up having to give their own classmates a lesson on behavioral issues themselves because the staff will not. I have watched the staff become lackadaisical in the aspect of behavioral isseus in just a few years, and it is unacceptable.


Posted February 23, 2012

I have 2 sons that started at the Academy when they were 3 years old. The Early School is an AMAZING place. I wanted a place they would learn, not just play and it fulfilled my expectations and then some. They have been at the school 10 years and achieved wonderful things. We are there for the "whole package". I love the environment and the sense of family. I love that I am happy to drop them off everyday and feel as though the faculty and staff are happy to see them. Academically they have provided what others would not and the sports programs and "specials" classes (art, foreign language, gym, music, creative movement, etc.) only add to the depth the Academy education offers. I will truly be sad when our family graduates from the 8th grade! It is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

My two boys have attended the Grosse Pointe Academy since 2007 and it has been a terrific experience in all regards. The outstanding and challenging curriculum, small class sizes and friendly and nuturing atmosphere make it an ideal learning environment -- with a focus on teaching the "whole" child. They promote creative learning and out-of-the-box thinking -- something that's sorely lacking in the "teach to the test" mentality prevalent at many schools today. It is a unique and wonderful school and we are thrilled to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

With five kids that have a great difference in learning styles, I have been extremely impressed with how GPA met the needs of all of my children. My older two sons are in high school now and were extremely well prepared; the oldest earning an academic merit scholarship. GPA has won Chinese quiz bowls; state championships in chess; forensic competitions. . . GPA has middle school sports included in tuition, world language every single day, fantastic musicals, national French competition winners . . . . Most importantly, the teachers push but love our children. They are caring and smart. We highly recommend The Grosse Pointe Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

GPA is a wonderful PreK - 8 school that creates a hunger to learn and a high livel of creative thinking in children. The result of a GPA education is eveident when you observe the grace, confidence and intelligence of a GPA graduate speak in public or interact with adults. From the Montesorri beginning the children gain an eagerness to learn more and the confidence to share what they learn with others. It is a balance of traditional, moral environment with 21st centruy learning, where each individual child needs are at its core. It has been a wonderful environment for my children, especially given the individual and different learning styles of each child. Both have flourished, enjoyed and excelled. We started in Early School without a definite intent to stay through 8th grade but immediattely saw the benefit of the continuous education being built on the Montessori beginning. Would highly recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

Having the ability to watch your child grow from the earliest years of Grosse Pointe Academy's montessori based "Early School", and graduate as an 8th grader is one of the greatest gifts a parent can receive. Throughout these years, my child had one of the most nurturing experiences, yet he was constantly challenged to reach his full potential. The extra curricular programs were outstanding, ranging from forensics, to chess and an opportunity to develop confidence in an non-cut athletic middle school program. The school also has a heritage dating back to the 1800's founded by French missionary nuns associated with the prestigous sisters of the Sacred Heart order. This heritage of a strong value in developing the whole child with a vigorous academic program still remains. The best of all, this is one of the most welcoming "family' to be a part of and share in the experience of watching your child grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

My four children have attended the Grosse Pointe Academy and have greatly benefited from the exceptional curriculum and nurturing environment. The teacher's are highly qualified and committed. The small classrooms allow them to give each student individualized attention - from the emerging to the gifted. The Children who attend the academy emerge poised, self confident and academically prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

A wonderful school. All the individual attention really allowed my children to blossom and discover talents they didn't know they had!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Really a great school with incredibly motivated teachers. The school has a Christian approach but doesn't insist on any particular belief system. My son graduated a couple of years ago and his experience at the Academy will never be forgotten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

GPA is a wonderful environment for children beginning in the Montessori Early School and continues throughout the lower and middle school. It provides a whole child approach - which is benefit for the future of our children as business research shows success is based on both academic intelligence and strong creative skills. GPA emphasizes both. Small class size with caring teachers and support team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

The Academy is superb. The perfect mix of caring, education, child development and a decidedly dedication to Christian principles (without being in-your-face for religious nonparticipants) my daughter flourished at all levels through her MBA at Northwestern. Worth the not inconsiderable expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

A great school in all areas. Great leadership, wonderful teachers and a fantastic campus.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 71%
African-American 10% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 5%
Multiracial 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 8th Grade class awarded $250,000 in high school merit scholarships in 2011
  • State top 3 placement in annual China Bowl
  • Chess Team- 4 time State Champions; Annual Forensics awards

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Murdock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (313) 886-8050

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • As a parent, you seek a school that will nurture your child as a lifelong learner who is academically prepared for high school math, science, history, social studies, language arts and foreign languages. You want your child to excel academically, communicate clearly, use technology effectively, appreciate the visual and performing arts, and participate in sports and community service programs. Above all, you want your child to be a moral, principled individual who is respectful of all people and sensitive to the needs of others. At the Academy, our aim is to help your child achieve these goals. An Academy education is defined by excellent academics and strong moral growth within a nurturing community. An Academy education builds strong character and produces students who respect others and are filled with the confidence to meet and conquer life's many challenges. An Academy education builds within each child a high moral standard to help him or her make ethical judgments and decisions throughout life. We invite you to be a part of a community that is defined by respect for others. A Grosse Pointe Academy education will be a rewarding experience that will provide an advantage for a lifetime.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private: University Liggett, Cranbrook, Boarding
Catholic- University of Detroit, DeLaSalle
Public- Grosse Pointe South and Grosse Pointe North
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

171 Lake Shore Rd
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI 48236
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 886-1221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Paul Catholic School
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI


Richard Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI



Found for Exceptional Child
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI


Kerby Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT