Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grosse Pointe Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
To all the teachers who take the extra time to hear each child, truly know them, and never give up on nurturing, inspiring and challenging them.

Grosse Pointe Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
They truly know the children and have the right tools to get the best out of them.


Grosse Pointe Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Students are requires to step our of their comfort zone and try new things: every child must participate in theater productions, at least one sports team, learn an instrument, take a second language, volunteer, and learn to speak in public, amongst other things. This teaches the GPA students about taking risks, learning how to fail, learning how to persist, and encourages hard work.

Grosse Pointe Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The Grosse Pointe Academy was founded on Christian principles that are woven into every aspect of learning.

Grosse Pointe Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The size of the class, the talent of the teachers along with access to any/all tools to find the most effective way to challenge my kids, this is what makes The Grosse Pointe Academy special. GPA is the place that will give your children the base they need to ensure success at any high school.


Grosse Pointe Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of two children at the GPA and very pleased with the education and experiences they have received to date. I am also thrilled with the advancement of the school in recent months due to the leadership of Lars Kuelling (new head of school) and excited with the vision, strategy and actions outlined for the upcoming school year. GPA is tracking to be best in class of 21st Century Learning . Yesterday evening, I had a neighbor approach me complimenting me on my daughter and how articulate, mature, and socially aware she is. This was a very kind remark from a couple I talk to only in passing walking our dogs. I highlight this comment because they are both former educators (high school principals from the surrounding area) and both worked with children for years. Yes, I was very pleased as a parent to receive this comment, but I also know GPA has played a major role in my daughter s development and creation of the talented and gracious individual she has become.

Grosse Pointe Academy 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
My children have been at the Grosse Pointe Academy for the past 10 years, and we have another 5 to go...It is the best school in the area. The teachers and the academic studies provided are second to none, and the new Head of School has been a terrific addition.

Grosse Pointe Academy 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
We have been parents if two children at GPA for the past nine years, beginning in the Early School with the strong Montessori beginning. They were given confidence, values and strong education throughout the ES experience. The lower and intermediate school has built on that strong foundation, challenging them in academics, art and growing their confidence at each step. The teachers and administrators know and understand the individual nuances of both of my children's unique personalities and learning styles. We have watched them grow as they have faced challenges, formed lasting friendships and developed life long character lessons.


Grosse Pointe Academy 2

Posted May 07, 2013
- a community member
This is my fifth year attending this school and I have been very displeased with my experience. The academics are great and they push the students to be active by having physical education four out of five days of the week and requiring each student to participate in at least one after school sport with the school. However, when bullying and harassment occur the staff does absolutely nothing until they are scolded multiple times by an angry parent looking out for their child. They focus too much on money instead of each child's mental well being. The more mature students end up having to give their own classmates a lesson on behavioral issues themselves because the staff will not. I have watched the staff become lackadaisical in the aspect of behavioral isseus in just a few years, and it is unacceptable.

Grosse Pointe Academy 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 sons that started at the Academy when they were 3 years old. The Early School is an AMAZING place. I wanted a place they would learn, not just play and it fulfilled my expectations and then some. They have been at the school 10 years and achieved wonderful things. We are there for the "whole package". I love the environment and the sense of family. I love that I am happy to drop them off everyday and feel as though the faculty and staff are happy to see them. Academically they have provided what others would not and the sports programs and "specials" classes (art, foreign language, gym, music, creative movement, etc.) only add to the depth the Academy education offers. I will truly be sad when our family graduates from the 8th grade! It is an amazing school.

Nearby schools

Grosse Pointe Academy
171 Lake Shore Rd, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI  48236
(313) 886-1221
Last modified Grosse Pointe Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top