Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Students enrolled: 520

5 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Monteith Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
Monteith is fantastic! We moved to the area from a very highly ranked school in California and couldn't be happier with the principal, teachers, staff, and fellow students/parents. We found a welcoming atmosphere with a strong focus on individualized learning for our kids in K, 3rd, and 5th. Highly recommended.

John Monteith Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
One of the greatest things about Monteith is that even though it's a big school, it still has a warm, neighborhood feel to it. Everyone from the principal on down is friendly and welcoming. Teachers take the time to differentiate between students so that everyone is challenged in the classroom. I'm always impressed by the fact that the gym teacher knows every child in the building by name! I highly recommend Monteith Elementary School!


John Monteith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2009
- a parent
I agree, Monteith is an incredible school with dedicated professionals. We have been lucky with fine teachers, and an incredible office staff.

John Monteith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2009
- a teacher
Monteith is a wonderful school, it doesn't get much better than this. Mr. Howell is the best principal to date. The staff and students are happy... where else is that going on?

John Monteith Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
We are parents of 2 daughters who have or will be attending Monteith. It is a great school. Yes, it is the largest of the elementary schools in GP. One of the reasons, is parents WANT to send their kids to this school. The early el (only area we have experience thus far) is excellent. The teachers and their supporting staff have been great at communicating to the parents and providing helpful hints to encourage their child's growth. We volunteer occassionally-maybe 20 hours a semester, and are always welcome. Mrs. Walby has done a great job following a principal that had been at Monteith for several years, as well as dealing with several of the current bond projects underway-parking lot, addition, etc. One thing missing-foreign language as part of the core curriculum.


John Monteith Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2004
- a parent
I've been a Monteith mom for three years and have two daughters there. It's a really great school. I volunteer a lot but unlike the reviewer before me, I don't come close to 20 hours a week and don't know any parent who does. Also, as a 'lunch mom' I can tell you that it's not up to us on whether the kids go out for recess or not - the principal makes the call based on weather and wind chill. There's never been a day when kids should have gone out but didn't. I'm not sure where the previous reviewer gets her/his information. As with any school, be careful of the parental gossip - it may not be true. Monteith has wonderful teachers and a stellar curriculum. Yes, it's the biggest in GP and lunchtime is rushed, but it's the one that all the parents want their kids in.

John Monteith Elementary School 3

Posted November 01, 2004
- a parent
My child-former student who attended for five years with previous principal. Monteith-most students of any elementary in GPSS. Many parents, i.e. mothers, volunteered more than 20 hrs/week. If you can't be that involved you may not perceive the school as 'user friendly', i.e. not inclusive of new or working families. The low math scores (compare Kirby and Mason) reflect the lack of quality math instruction for fourth and fifth grades. No school is perfect, but many contradictions: violin offered, classes held in basement furnace room; hot lunch offered, lines so long and lunchroom (gym) so noisy and crowded bag lunch necessary to finish a 'thirty-minute- factory-lunch'; after-care offered for working parents at a fee which included use of school gym, yet parent or community (elections) activities took priority, kids given hallway or art room; lunch moms didn't like cold, kids given indoor (classroom) recess 10 days straight against PE recommendations.

John Monteith Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Monteith Elementary School
1275 Cook Road, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI  48236
(313) 432-4500
Last modified John Monteith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Monteith Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top