Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 4

Posted November 27, 2012
- a community member
I am a former student at Star and I can honestly say that I received a great education there. There are very dedicated teachers and a very close-knit community of involved parents that helped me. After attending from K-8, I felt very prepared for high school and still value what I learned now that I'm in college. However, I must say that some of lessons teach very slanted views on religion and teach very little about multicultural history, world history, diversity issues etc. When I was there we didn't even celebrate MLK Day! At best this seemed conservative and at worst intolerant.

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
I go to OLSOS school it is the best. I'm an honor roll student because of my school. if you are looking for a school you should come to star of the sea


Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2008
- a parent
Most of the 8th grade graduates are inducted into the NHS in their high schools. That tells me everything I need to know.

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2007
- a former student
I recently graduated from OLSOS. I can personally testify that I got the best education available. Though many say that the local public middle schoolers know more than OLSOSers, that is not true at all. Star prepared me so well for high school. The honors math class in middle school really prepared me for the rigorous honors high school math class, as well as many other honors courses. I am being challenged in high school, but not struggling. Going from Star to GPN, it was a big adjustment. The parent, teacher and student involvement at Star is incredible. I don't know any other school with such dedicated people. As well as a great education, the sports teams at Star prepared me well for high school sports. The school musicals are one of the best in the area.


Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2004
- a parent
My daughter and son both attentd Star of the Sea. Although I don't live in the area, I feel very much apart of the community and I have meet some wonderful parents who really care about their children's education and are very invovled. Star of the Sea strives for academic excellance, and christanity.

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
I have a son that has attended Star for 3 years now. We love the school itself. They are very organized & the teachers are very attentive. The work is challenging enough to keep him busy but the parents & staff are very very cliquish. I understand that neighbors will be friendly to each other but they make outsiders feel unwelcomed because it is an affluent community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School
467 Fairford Road, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI  48236
(313) 884-1070
Last modified Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady Star Of The Sea Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top