Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

University Liggett School

Private | PK-12 | 46 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Grosse Pointe...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

It is not fair to state people are jealous if they give a review different than yours. Perhaps those giving perfect reviews are the parents deeply involved in the school through family history of attending or volunteering. Anyway, the school is mostly white. Diversity is sports scholarships for Detroit kids. In all fairness Grosse Pointe is not culturally or ethnically diverse therefore 98% of kids are white. Most teachers are good & caring. Discipline policy for kids is basically the more influence your parents have at school the more likely you will not be held accountable. Pressure to donate money but that is common at private schools. Headmaster is aloof. He only says hello to rich families and walks past & ignores others like they don't exist. Recognition awards seem to go to kids whose parents volunteer a lot at the school. Kids at school are very nice and friendly. Most parents are nice. Good school but it is not Cranbrook or DCDS or Roeper. My kids actually love the school but it is academically average. I send them there for the environment which is great for my kids bec it is small & community oriented. Many issues I have described here are common at all private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Horrible school, waste of money. Not "jealous" as I did attend it for a semester... waste of time. three Merit Scholars left this year due to unsatisfactory academic experience. Elitist culture, cliquey, sports-centered, and extremely easy.I had a perfect GPA and didn't even need to try. Too many kids are there to "play sports" and not to learn. No more honors classes leave the smart kids trapped with those who just want to have a good time and not learn. The administration told my family that I would be challenged, but man were they wrong. I was put in a lower level math class even though I am very smart, and they refused to move me up to the Honors track, even though I was awarded a Merit Scholarship and test extremely high. I definitely regret attending this school, and I am so happy that I left and am now attending GPN.


Posted April 27, 2013

Amazing environment in which to learn. Ignore the naysayers; they are just jealous and do not attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This school is phenomenal. The overall school community is excellent and creates a great atmosphere for children of all different backgrounds. The school does a great job of broadening their students' views and challenging them so they can reach their full potential. The staff there is more than qualified with over 90% of them having their Masters degree in teaching.


Posted October 12, 2012

I'm guessing that the negative reviews are from parent's who don't have children attending. I have found all of the teachers and faculty to be very kind and attentive. My daughter is thriving and loves school. The classes are small and the curriculum is innovative. Children receive lots of individual attention and teachers can cultivate each child's interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

I cannot say enough positive things about Liggett. Two of my children are currently enrolled. My third child will be attending next year. The teachers are very professional. The faculty also creates a positive learning environment by removing barriers that prevent learning i.e. bullying, teasing, cliques and exlcusion by peers. The children learn to learn. My children will be very prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

I agree with some of the reviews. It's a school mainly for kids from local rich families. Some of the staff I interacted with there was not very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I'm in college now at a top university. Liggett prepared me well. The teachers were almost always very supportive and effective.


Posted July 19, 2011

Ten years ago I never would have sent my kids to Liggett. A new headmaster, new principal, and a new philosophy have won me over. The classes are small (a huge, huge factor in learning), the teachers actually care to the point you wonder if they ever go home (they actually hold students accountable for high-level learning - not just rote memorization), the course offerings are on par with any school in the state, and the administration doesn't hide from parents like other schools. The counselors are experts at college admissions. Phone calls and e-mails are always returned promptly. It is NOT a snobby environment. We do not live in Grosse Pointe and our kids have never felt out of place at the school. They offer financial aid to practically everyone, so don't necessarily go by the tuition listed on the website. I have been pleasantly surprised and feel it's worth every penny. If you want your kids to actually LEARN, this school can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Definitely for the rich. Teachers don't even have to have a masters in teaching. Public schools in the area like Grosse Pointe South are much better at preparing a student for college.


Posted March 5, 2010

University Liggett is extremely overrated. It's for the privileged and not the talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

University Liggett School is great. The classes are small, and the teachers are definately some of the most amazing people you will ever meet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I feel comfortably prepared to attend a top university next year and recognize that I will arrive at lectures and classes with the invaluable advantage of having recieved this education from ULS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2008

Absolutely a wonderful school. The faculty and staff are all so caring and loving of the children, and the education offered is above most schools. I definitely recommend ULS. Your child can be a star with the help of Liggett. I've known brain surgeons, actors, people on broadway and lawyers to have graduated from Liggett and attribute their success to their education received there!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
African-American 10% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joseph Healey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular,Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AIMS,NAIS
  • ISACS
Fax number
  • (313) 884-1775

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1045 Cook Road
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI 48236
Phone: (313) 884-4444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John Monteith Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI



Kerby Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI


Tyrone Elementary School
Harper Woods, MI



Stevens T. Mason Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT