Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Children are taught more than the basic educational standards. They experience real life situations and complete hands on projects. Commonwealth doesn't just talk about it, they live it!
December 09, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Commonwealth Community Development Academy
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted December 09, 2015
- a school leader
Students spend time learning appropriate social interaction in various settings and participate in class council sessions to develop communication skills while discussing problems that arise in their classes. They use role cards to assist with taking the right steps to resolve their concerns.

Commonwealth Community Development Academy
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted December 09, 2015
- a school leader
Commonwealth has a built in character building program to develop positive, productive citizens who believe in themselves and considers the feelings of others. They partner with the Success for All Foundation and DMC to address topics like bullying, safety, self-respect and more.


Commonwealth Community Development Academy
no rating

Posted December 09, 2015
- a school leader
Children are taught more than the basic educational standards. They experience real life situations and complete hands on projects. Commonwealth doesn't just talk about it, they live it!

Commonwealth Community Development Academy 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a teacher
Former teacher at this school and would NOT recommend it for any teacher or child. Unsafe environment, office staff sometimes not present and phones are not in rooms. MEAP scores ridiculously low.

Commonwealth Community Development Academy 1

Posted November 28, 2013
- a community member
bad school i use to go there people dont go there i had a good teacher his name was mr.fells


Commonwealth Community Development Academy 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a teacher
Commonwealth Community Development Academy Is clearly a FAILING SCHOOL! I would not recommend this school to anyone unless your looking for a a babysitter! The administrators and their practices are terrible! The conditions of building aren't the best for students or staff members! They are ranked as one of the worst schools in Detroit! Not one of their students passed the MEAP successfully which is evidence that they are deficient in many areas! Overall, if you want your child to have a valuable learning experience don't send them to Commonwealth Community Development Academy!

Commonwealth Community Development Academy 1

Posted August 11, 2013
- a teacher
I really don't even know where to start but please take this review seriously. I am a former teacher and for all teachers looking for a job? Keep looking. For all the parents looking for a school? Keep looking. Teachers: you can do better. I promise. I worked there for many years because I got comfortable and was scared to look, but there were only empty promises from administration and very poor working conditions. Parents: do NOT continue to enroll your students here. Please. Yes, they pay money for good programs, but they don't provide teachers with what they need, they don't even know what their teachers are doing most of the time! Behavior is horrible and even the best behaved student becomes out of control. There are days that there isn't even anyone inthe office. They are so lucky that there has not been an emergency. They were on the worst schools list by the newspaper for a reason. You can see this in their MEAP scores. It is inexcusable. This school needs to be shutdown, and Eastern needs to wake up, do a site visit, interview teachers, and they will see past the smoke and mirrors.

Commonwealth Community Development Academy 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Worst school every!!!!!I could not wait till the school year ended.The staff had know clue about what was going on.There was only one sixth grade class....yes all the sixth graders from the entire school were in that one class.My kid didnt learn enything.


Commonwealth Community Development Academy 3

Posted August 13, 2011
- a community member
i have no words for this school their programs are okay and compared to other schools around the neighborhood its good because of the lack of competition i am so happy for this school but this school is not all peach and creams its a small school with small issues which can be handled i can see this school is trying to improve and maybe it will i can't say the bad outweighs the good but my experience here have been rocky for reasons i will not tell you i not saying its a good or bad school but just know this is the time to be a gambler either you put a child in this school and trust they will be okay or trust they will be okay and they won't be okay its an investment but maybe its an investment worth investing in,this school was once great but it went down hill in like 2008 but its getting better and i believe it will once again be good i don't agree with some of this reviews unless you go to this school you will be an outsider and trust me its not all peach and creams like some of this reviews are trying to say and i really hope this school becomes a school of excellence i have memories here good and bad and i will pray for this school

Commonwealth Community Development Academy 4

Posted August 12, 2011
- a parent
My children attended this school from kindergarten, and they received an excellent academic foundation. I absolutely love the Success for All reading program and would recommend it to anyone. My kids learned the roots of reading in kindergarten and the program builds each year with my child s growth. My children are outstanding readers and writers because of it. I also like the staff s genuine interest in working with every student. They don t just kick kids out of school for convenience, like most other schools that don t wants to deal with our kids. They truly believe in No child being left behind .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Commonwealth Community Development Academy
13477 Eureka St, Hamtramck, MI  48212
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (313) 366-9470
Last modified Commonwealth Community Development Academy is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top