Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am the new Principal of Holbrook Elementary School. We have a hard working and dedicated team of educators working diligently to prepare our students for life. Our families are accessible and come when called on. The community is behind us and that is just what we need to continue our forward momentum. Change for the better is here and we will consistently make gains.
May 08, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
1 OVERALL RATING

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Holbrook School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 08, 2016
- a school leader
We have a large Arabic speaking population of students within our school. We have members on our team that are able to be utilized to support classroom instruction to assist both our teachers and students succeed.

Holbrook School 4

Posted May 08, 2016
- a school leader
I am the new Principal of Holbrook Elementary School. We have a hard working and dedicated team of educators working diligently to prepare our students for life. Our families are accessible and come when called on. The community is behind us and that is just what we need to continue our forward momentum. Change for the better is here and we will consistently make gains.


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Walkthroughs and dialogue regarding student achievement are continuous. Observations and feedback are key. Open communication continues to work well for us.
Posted May 08, 2016

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Each teacher assigns homework. The level of the work is dependent on the grade level and skills of the student. Many of our teachers will assist students with their homework during lunch and after school. Homework is practice so that the skills being taught in class are reinforced.
Posted May 08, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
We hold everyone to a high standard so that our students can see what it means to get the job done. It is modeled throughout our day-to-day work and is presented to our students constantly. Hard work and dedication is the way to go.
Posted May 08, 2016


Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Respect is given to all individuals in and around our school. Whether you are a child or an adult, teacher or cafeteria worker. Each person is respected because that is the proper way of living.
Posted May 08, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
We listen to each student who bring up concerns and try our absolute best to assist them in finding solutions with them.
Posted May 08, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
We utilize Restorative Practices within our school as a means to tap into the positive formation of relationships. Building relationships with each and every student and their family is extremely important with our small family-like school. We work with our students on an individual basis.
Posted May 08, 2016


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I am the new Principal of Holbrook Elementary School. We have a hard working and dedicated team of educators working diligently to prepare our students for life. Our families are accessible and come when called on. The community is behind us and that is just what we need to continue our forward momentum. Change for the better is here and we will consistently make gains.
Posted May 08, 2016

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I would like to thank my entire team of educators, support staff and definitely my families for the support of our students and school.
Posted May 08, 2016

Nearby schools

Holbrook School
2361 Alice Street, Hamtramck, MI  48212
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (313) 872-3203
Last modified Holbrook School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top