Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hartland High School

Public | 8-12 & ungraded | 1797 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

This is a nice place. There Administration and Counselors seem to care, which is most of the battle. The seasoned teachers are excellent but the amount of young inexperienced teachers is overwhelming. Great CAD and career tech classes as well as college prep courses. If you choose to send your child make sure they end up with Mrs. Dubay, Mrs. Moore, Mrs. Gazda, or Mrs. Iden for something. They are by far the three best educators that a young adult could ever hope to work with. The athletics facility is superb and the security is headed up by Mike Capra, one of the best people you could ever hope to meet. Overall, it's a great place. I'm proud to say this is where i'm from, and no other public school I know would be able to provide the resources to succeed in today's world like Hartland High School.


Posted September 3, 2011

There is a great lack of motivation in students. The school is a safe environment, but there are a lot of drugs around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

I am a past student, and i agree that teachers are above average. The education prepares you for the future education and life.


Posted December 4, 2008

This school is a very good school teaching wise. The teachers are awsome! The staff (office workers, principle, and counselors) try very hard to keep the students under control and happy, but i have seen them act coldly to parents. The math books are really bad and hard to understand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

My school is a very good school. The teachers are nice and will help you if you ask for it, they won't just come up and help you, they have many students to deal with. I have to admitt we are on a short supplies on books but there are only 2 classes I am in that I can't bring a book home, spanish and marketing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

Hartland High School is one of the best around in the state of Michigan. The teachers, counselors, and administarotirs are easily assessable and willing to listen to parent concerns. All of the staff memembers that I have come into contact with are alsways prompt and knowledgable. My son is a special needs student and all of his teahcers and the counselors work with us to assist our child. I am very happy with the overall quality of education my child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

This scool doesn't have the money for social study books that students can take home, but it has a nice, big pool (?) The administrations is always blaming the over-flowing class size for the incompetent teachers w/ tenure. Teachers are not accountible. If your child is extremely independent, all is good. If your child needs one-one guidance, forget it! They do not care. They also treat students unequally. One student will be allowed to switch classes, the other will not. Basically, the counselors lie to you, and hope you just go away. The math program is terrible. In my sons class alone, I knew of ten failing students! Even the director of Sylvan asked me if I knew where they could get a copy of his Math books. They claimed there was an influx of Hartland students needing help in Math. Even Sylvan couldn't figure out how to teach it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Over 30 students per class . Cold/inconsistant administration. Math program deteriorating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

480 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 69%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Benjamin Mainka
Fax number
  • (810) 626-2201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10635 Dunham Rd
Hartland, MI 48353
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 626-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





West Highland Christian Academy
Highland Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT