Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Evangelical Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 55 students

Our school is best known for its high achievement test scores and music program.

 
 

Living in Hartland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2012

As we celebrate the Advent season, I am reminded once again just how blessed my children are to receive a quality Christian education at Our Savior. The opportunities to worship the Lord throughout the school day, to be challenged academically in the classrooms, and to participate in an exceptional music program are truly a gift. I commend our faithful and dedicated teaching and pastoral staff for their commitment to academic excellence and faithful instruction. They truly love our children, each other, and this parish. Thanks be to God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

This school has been and continues to be an excellent school. My children love their teachers and are flourishing academically, spiritually, and emotionally. Two of them consistently score two to three grades above in achievement tests. The other has some learning difficulties and with the small class sizes and caring teachers, has been progressing remarkably well. All three enjoy the extra-curricular activities and the facilities are beautiful. I highly recommend this school for those interested in a Christ-centered, academically challenging school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My middle schooler is receiving an amazing, faith-based education. He knows scripture as well as math, social studies, and language arts. There is an active PTL and group of parents in the building everyday keeping activities and funding going. While the sudden resignation of the contract principal in 2011 and her friends on the teaching staff caused a great deal of stress and the departure of some families, the school remains a peaceful, Christ-centered educational facility. My child is thriving, and I enjoy my interactions with all staff and families at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My husband has been a lifelong member of this congregation, and we are very active members in the church. We have had two children graduate from the school and currently have two there. The education they have received and are receiving is top notch. There was some unfortunate events that did take place in 2011. The school is once again working in harmony with the church as it did in the years before this incident and we are very happy and excited for some of the great new things happening in this congregation and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My wife and I had our children here until the end of 2011. When I enrolled them I was very impressed with the teachers and the greeting with warmth and open arms we recieved as we were new to putting our children into private school, but were also not members of the church. With that said, this once wonderful school was filled with sadness and uncertainty by the end of the school year so we chose to remove our children. I grew up my entire life in the church and to see what was happening yet again, only this time, affecting the school saddened me greatly but I was not surprised as this was nothing new to me since I had seen this kind of split and division within the church/school all before. As of last week, another teacher has resigned and yet another family has transferred out.. How sad the turmoil that started a year ago, is still dragging down this school. I pray for those responsible and just hope God is letting this happen for a reason...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

there is entirely too much discord coming from the church. we left recently due to the fighting and negativity. The teachers really do try to do their best with the situation in which they find themselves. However, the class sizes and staff has dwindled so severely that we were forced to take our children elsewhere. We know that this was a great school last year, but currently the fighting has severely hindered it from flourishing. I am sure that this post will be deleted shortly as others stating valid concerns have recently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

I currently have children there, and will not be returning. Another teacher resigns. Speaks for itself. I am shocked that anything that has been said negative is so quickly being dismissed when it shows within the school itself exactly what is happening. I am very concerned they will not manage through the remainder of this year but am hopeful I am no left seeking a place to put my children mid year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Unfortunately, our school has had negative reviews on the site. There are one or two families who feel the need to constantly post negative reviews about our church and school. To say our school it is not "Christ Centered" is nothing short of a lie. There is no bickering, no fighting, and no aggression. The only problems we have are the people submitting the negative reviews on this web site. We are brothers and sisters in Christ and strive to do His work. Children in the day care, pre-school thru 8th grade receive a quality education. OSL is a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

TOP NOTCH. This school is absolutely wonderful. As is stated below If you are looking for CHRIST CENTERED education for your child this is the place. The teachers in place truly care about the students in all aspects of their Christian and Educational growth. The IOWA test scores noted below demonstrate the excellence, and the continued success of these students after attending is I believe unmatched. Class sizes are ideal for one on one educational opportunities, I have had my children in this school both before and after some of the staff turnover and can say without a doubt that this School is in a much better place now than it has ever been since moving into the new facility. The votes of a few as mentioned below, are the votes of the departed. The issues have been addressed and rectified with the willful departures of the staff members and principal. Any Current family with children in the school will tell you that there is no better school in the area if you desire quality education which is Christ Centered. Come visit and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Our Savior Lutheran is the place to be! I have children in multiple grades and know that this school is top notch! In fact, it has gotten 100% better within the past year after some very important changes were made to see that the parochial and caring character of the school remained intact. I'm so glad that the faithful members have stepped up and worked so hard to build up the school and to provide the families they serve (both member and non-member) with only the best! Thank you Our Savior School! Thank you Our Savior Lutheran Church! You are at the top of the education field and a blessing to the community you serve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

GREAT SCHOOL! This school has met all of my expectations for a Christ centered education. In addition to high academic standards the students are exposed to the Word of God on a daily basis. Daily devotions and religion classes are a part of every classroom. Chapel is held weekly and Christian values are integrated into many classes throughout the day. The students consistently score above state and national averages on the Iowa achievement tests. Also, the students who graduate from this school are well prepared for the high schools that they attend, whether public, private or parochial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Our Savior is a wonderful place for children to study and for families to grow. The entire school is built upon Christ and delivers the Word of God to students on a daily basis. Teachers and principal are well qualified and are truly invested in the academic, social and SPIRITUAL education of their students. Students are challenged academically and are given numerous opportunities to interact with staff in an individualized and small group setting. The church is refreshingly supportive of the school, even amidst economically trying times. My family belongs to the church and we have a young child that we CANNOT WAIT to enroll in this Christ-Centered school! Come check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

Our Savior Lutheran School has been a blessing to our entire family. Our children receive an excellent education at the hands of faithful and skilled teachers while being nurtured in a Christian environment. The school is like a family and offers a wealth of opportunities to enjoy fellowship with other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

The results are beyond dispute: IOWA test scores over several years show an average Grade Equivalent Score for second-graders that is 2 years above grade level...by eighth grade, this has increased to well over four years above grade level: 12th and 13th grade equivalent scores--for 8th-graders, mind you--in every one of the 16 ITBS categories. This public high school teacher (a Roman Catholic) has in-depth firsthand knowledge of what is being done right here, from Child of Christ's program to create a culture of reading from K to 8, to their excellent math program requiring mastery of calculating skills, to their vital fostering of faith in Christ. If you want hard data, contact the school (or ask them for me, they'll know who I am--all of my Catholic kids go there, or soon will). John
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

Excellent academics, Christ-centered foundation, wonderful teachers, new facilities coming in 2009/2010!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

Excellent school. Focusing on Christ and Academics. Very challening for students with small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • American sign language
  • German
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • A. Johnson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (248) 887-3596

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • American sign language
  • German
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • German
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13667 West Highland Rd
Hartland, MI 48353
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 887-3836

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Highland Christian Academy
Highland Township, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT